Current

Archives

Host

Profile

Buy my CD

Photo Log

NEW BLOG
LOCATION


Links:

Blogs &c
The Jeaun
Nounatron
Specific Objects
Oltremare
Hot Lotion
NolanPop
Putain
Weebs
From The South
Furia
Sunday Kofax
Lizz
Robin
Faery Face
Until Later
Slower
Slatch
The Chicagoist
Neal Pollack
< ? chicago blogs # >

Music
Nolan
Burn Disco Burn
Pitchfork
Last Plane To Jakarta
All Music Guide
Better Propaganda

News & Politics
Salon
Spinsanity
MoveOn
Daily Kos
The Daily Howler
Liberal Oasis
David Rees
ACT For Victory

Magazines &c
Nerve
McSweeney's
The Believer
Adbusters
The Chicago Reader
Vice
Chunklet
The2ndHand
This Is Grand
606

... in which I move a piano. A goddamn piano.
07 October 2002

I�m up late by myself, piddling around and just relaxing. Watched Adult Swim and ate some cookies. Last night Jenn and I went to a party that Leah�s friend Jamie was having. It was all right, but I was sober and there were lots of people I didn�t know, so it was a case of diminished returns.

Today Mark called me and somehow goaded me into helping him and some other unfortunate souls into helping him move an upright piano out of one person�s house and into his. Somehow he found out about these people who needed a piano out of their house by order of their landlord, so he rented a U-Haul and somehow convinced me, Dino, Matt, and Adam to help him lug it out of the house and into the truck. It was hellish, but I guess it�ll make for a good story when we�re older. Plus, we can now milk him for all kinds of favors.

Then I went over to Jon Svec�s recording studio to practice with him and Andy Parrott. Andy has some rock songs he�s been wanting to record. I wasn�t sure what to expect, but it was a rewarding experience. Andy taught us four songs. They were tough to learn but fun to play�he�s an exceptional guitarist and writes complex but exciting music. It�s a far cry from RR and Nolan, but still fun. And it�s a change of pace to work with two musicians� musicians�they sit while they play, they know eighty billion chords, and they write things down as they learn songs. Plus, they�re ten years older than I am.

The weather is cold and crisp. Perfect walking weather, with autumn sweater and autumn jacket.


0 Comments

Back & Forth