Current

Archives

Host

Profile

Buy my CD

Photo Log

NEW BLOG
LOCATION


Links:

Blogs &c
The Jeaun
Nounatron
Specific Objects
Oltremare
Hot Lotion
NolanPop
Putain
Weebs
From The South
Furia
Sunday Kofax
Lizz
Robin
Faery Face
Until Later
Slower
Slatch
The Chicagoist
Neal Pollack
< ? chicago blogs # >

Music
Nolan
Burn Disco Burn
Pitchfork
Last Plane To Jakarta
All Music Guide
Better Propaganda

News & Politics
Salon
Spinsanity
MoveOn
Daily Kos
The Daily Howler
Liberal Oasis
David Rees
ACT For Victory

Magazines &c
Nerve
McSweeney's
The Believer
Adbusters
The Chicago Reader
Vice
Chunklet
The2ndHand
This Is Grand
606

... in which I celebrate the Simpsons, radishes, and five songs.
29 October 2002

Right now I am reading: Skipping Towards Gomorrah by Dan Savage ... A humorous and articulate dissection of conservative hypocrisy and liberal guilt.

Man, look at that: "A humorous and articulate dissection"? I should write book jacket blurbs. I would do some kind of blurb-themed piece, but Ben Greenman already beat me to it.

In these days of cold and strife, it's important to enjoy the little things: like all this week, they're showing Simpsons Halloween specials. Yesterday was 1993 and 1994 (classics, including "The Shinning") and today was 1995 and 1996 (including the 3D episode, the one where Lisa creates a tiny civilization, and the one where Kang & Kodos run for president). So I've decided not to work overtime so I can make it home by five. I figure a can sacrifice a few dollars here and there just so I can indulge in the only TV I watch all week. One great thing about the Simpsons (besides its being the best show ever) is that, when I watch the older episodes, I always get nostalgic for the time in my life when they first aired. Especially the golden era of the show (1993-1997).

Plus, I've begun a strange ritual of eating radishes while I watch the Simpsons. My mother used to feed them to me, and they've always been a favorite snack. Maybe my after-school snack of apples and peanut butter has been transformed into an after-work snack of radishes and beer. (I imagine radishes and beer is the sort of thing they serve in Russian prisons.)

Today I was reminded once again of how out of touch and lacking in certain social graces people at work can be. There was one individual sitting (thankfully) on the other side of the room who had a hacking cough throughout the whole day, and never thought to remove himself from the general work area. I feel sorry for the people sitting next to him. And Robin told me she has to sit next to a man who farts and belches audibly. This project is over at the end of the week, and then we'll at least get a change of scenery: 10th grade writing instead of 4th grade writing. I'd like to say that'll be an improvement, but I've seen my share of 10th graders' writing.

Top 5 songs of this very instant:

1. "Below The Sliding Doors" Blinker The Star
2. "Alternate Route To Vulcan Street" Super Furry Animals
3. "Catch The Sun" The Doves
4. "Lay Your Hands On Me" Thompson Twins
5. "New Thing" Saint Etienne


0 Comments

Back & Forth