Current

Archives

Host

Profile

Buy my CD

Photo Log

NEW BLOG
LOCATION


Links:

Blogs &c
The Jeaun
Nounatron
Specific Objects
Oltremare
Hot Lotion
NolanPop
Putain
Weebs
From The South
Furia
Sunday Kofax
Lizz
Robin
Faery Face
Until Later
Slower
Slatch
The Chicagoist
Neal Pollack
< ? chicago blogs # >

Music
Nolan
Burn Disco Burn
Pitchfork
Last Plane To Jakarta
All Music Guide
Better Propaganda

News & Politics
Salon
Spinsanity
MoveOn
Daily Kos
The Daily Howler
Liberal Oasis
David Rees
ACT For Victory

Magazines &c
Nerve
McSweeney's
The Believer
Adbusters
The Chicago Reader
Vice
Chunklet
The2ndHand
This Is Grand
606

... in which I enumerate my goals for the holiday.
27 November 2002

I know I just posted last night, but I'm just so goddamn prolific. Not really, though. I just have a lot of bullshit to get out on the table. It's not like anyone's going to worry that they've missed an entry. ("Oh no! Did I miss another sanguine, overlong dissection of a Loud Family song? I'd better check the archives!")


My brother just sent me this. I think it's a great idea. We'll be accepting any donations or government grants to help the project along and get it to Sundance '03.

    Yeah, I'm home.� I gots your stuff, too.� When are you coming home?

    We can discuss it further when you get here, but I need you to write a movie that I can make over break.� If you're interested.� I've been thinking about a biopic about Speed of Sauce.� It would only depict the most dramatic points in the band's storied history.� The only song on the soundtrack would be "A Match Made in Space."

    Cast

    John Paul Mohan: Josh Bunger
    Mark Paulson: Ransom Briggs
    Wes Phillips: Zeb Curtin
    Phil Moore: April Kamp-Whittaker
    Tom Zlabinger: Ben Jones
    Ed Lasley: Mike Longhurst
    Adam Bernemann: Britt Daniel

    Uh, that's all.

    Getting laid a lot rocks,
    Julian Casablancas


I�m done with work for the week. The next three days are going to be spent pursuing very simple, very attainable pleasures. I almost feel like I�m in college again, because I truly have no obligations and my only projects are little ones I�m doing for own self-fulfillment. To wit, these are my goals for Thanksgiving:

1. Send Neil his late birthday present. (Give me your address, Neil!)
2. Finish Dorian Gray.
3. Read You Shall Know Our Velocity.
4. Begin Quitting The Nairobi Trio.
5. Drink beers with my brother.
6. Eat food prepared by my mother.
7. Go to the Grinnell bars on Wednesday night and see people I went to high school with, ravaged by time. (Wherein I find out who from my graduating class: is married / divorced / dead / out of the closet / lost weight / gained weight / still hates me.)
8. Eat Thanksgiving dinner with my parents and their academic friends, rabid Democrats all.
9. Watch a number of my brother�s old �Simpsons� tapes.
10. Limewire a bunch of Van Halen songs and make a mix CD.
11. Celebrate Buy Nothing Day on Friday.

Since making that list last night, I've already accomplished #2 and #10. I am a veritable dynamo!


0 Comments

Back & Forth