Current

Archives

Host

Profile

Buy my CD

Photo Log

NEW BLOG
LOCATION


Links:

Blogs &c
The Jeaun
Nounatron
Specific Objects
Oltremare
Hot Lotion
NolanPop
Putain
Weebs
From The South
Furia
Sunday Kofax
Lizz
Robin
Faery Face
Until Later
Slower
Slatch
The Chicagoist
Neal Pollack
< ? chicago blogs # >

Music
Nolan
Burn Disco Burn
Pitchfork
Last Plane To Jakarta
All Music Guide
Better Propaganda

News & Politics
Salon
Spinsanity
MoveOn
Daily Kos
The Daily Howler
Liberal Oasis
David Rees
ACT For Victory

Magazines &c
Nerve
McSweeney's
The Believer
Adbusters
The Chicago Reader
Vice
Chunklet
The2ndHand
This Is Grand
606

All good people, amalgamate!
03 December 2002

Creative endeavors which will very definitely see the light of day:

1. The movie about masturbation and/or air-guitar which Neil and I wrote over a year and a half ago (working title: Meatbone)

2. The punk band I will form, which will do punk covers of ambient songs. We will be called Goddambient

3. A TV series entitled "52", where the action takes place over the course of one week per episode, over the course of a year

4. My brother's Speed Of Sauce documentary (working title: You Shall Know Our Viscosity)

5. The "zine" Leah and I are going to start publishing (working titles: Bit O' Honey, Lint Afficionado, Bread Bowl Salad). Seeing as how the "zine" tag is a bit overdone, we want to call it a "maga"

6. A new socio-anthropological survey/dissertation/project/drunken experiment entitled: "Left-Handed People: Are They Faking It?"


Yesterday I purchased my first carton of egg nog and I've been enjoying it intermittently since then. Mmm, egg nog. My brother's plan discussion has some merit: lately I've been getting nostalgic about plans and remembering some of my stellar accomplishments in said genre. I dug something up today which is slightly relevant. I wrote it several years ago and put it in my plan, and I am sad to say I was not on any drugs at the time. The only thing I can really blame my delirium on is that rarefied, dreaded state of being a junior in college, a Buddhist, and suffering from I'm-Too-Cool-For-Capitalization Syndrome:

    April 1998

    tie yourself together with big yellow bungee cord! you still got a lot to learn, look inside your mind! i see you in back seat looking into the sun getting blind, look no further! all beings regroup and sing into one! make a goodness lever, learn to use it!

    all good people, amalgamate! bring good juice to picnics, looks after children! see that they don't choke! many musicians say, you will be all right! i can�t do it for you, it�s easy! go down to river, wade across, climb up hill! this simple logic, a gift for all! be clever, you are the inventor!

    talk with your own brain, then let it go! next time you see a pretty girl, talk to her, she will like it! this, I write, this instructions manual for own life, for owning life! don't sabotage own happiness! your happiness is others� happiness! you share happiness, you owe it to them to keep happiness clean!

    maybe no one reads the plan anymore, oh well! that's life! don't cling to your memories, just play them back like film reel! in real time. in mean time, make new ones! never undo the juice made from concentrate! always be ever all right!

Really, folks. No drugs at all.


The other day I overheard the following conversation at the store:

HE: Did I tell you I'm gonna try out for Herky The Hawk in the spring?
SHE: That's neat. Why exactly do you want to be Herky?
HE: [after a long pause] 'Cause ... it'd be awesome.


0 Comments

Back & Forth