Current

Archives

Host

Profile

Buy my CD

Photo Log

NEW BLOG
LOCATION


Links:

Blogs &c
The Jeaun
Nounatron
Specific Objects
Oltremare
Hot Lotion
NolanPop
Putain
Weebs
From The South
Furia
Sunday Kofax
Lizz
Robin
Faery Face
Until Later
Slower
Slatch
The Chicagoist
Neal Pollack
< ? chicago blogs # >

Music
Nolan
Burn Disco Burn
Pitchfork
Last Plane To Jakarta
All Music Guide
Better Propaganda

News & Politics
Salon
Spinsanity
MoveOn
Daily Kos
The Daily Howler
Liberal Oasis
David Rees
ACT For Victory

Magazines &c
Nerve
McSweeney's
The Believer
Adbusters
The Chicago Reader
Vice
Chunklet
The2ndHand
This Is Grand
606

The next thing.
10 December 2002

From You Shall Know Our Velocity:

Hand, nobody told me about the weight. Why didn't our parents tell us about the weight? ... The fucking weight, Hand. How does the woman Ingres live? The one from Marrakesh? If we're vessels, and we are, then we, you and I, are overful, and that means she's at the bottom of a deep cold lake. ... There is this bounty before us, all the foods of the world, everything perfect and rich, and I want to devour it all but I have been stuffed already�with sand and fire. At twenty-seven I am overfull with sand and fire and it wasn't my choice. ... I don't want my own thoughts anymore. I want my head to be only a part of something else. A small part of a thinking organism. ... Make me a part of that, make my brain just part of that operation. I want none of my own thoughts anymore. I want to donate my head. ... Jesus, Hand, we're only twenty-seven. Doesn't it seem like someone's fucking with us here? The weight! I can't do� It'll only get worse. ... I am ready. I am tingling for the world. But I was already raw. I didn't realize how raw. Then we planned this trip and I thought I could do more, that I could do better. But now I want to see the end. When you know when the weight will be lifted you can bear it in the meantime. ... When we pass by another person without telling them we love them it's cruel and wrong and we all know this. We live in a constant state of denial and imbalance. ...

"Let's go," I said. "Let's do the next thing."


0 Comments

Back & Forth