Current

Archives

Host

Profile

Buy my CD

Photo Log

NEW BLOG
LOCATION


Links:

Blogs &c
The Jeaun
Nounatron
Specific Objects
Oltremare
Hot Lotion
NolanPop
Putain
Weebs
From The South
Furia
Sunday Kofax
Lizz
Robin
Faery Face
Until Later
Slower
Slatch
The Chicagoist
Neal Pollack
< ? chicago blogs # >

Music
Nolan
Burn Disco Burn
Pitchfork
Last Plane To Jakarta
All Music Guide
Better Propaganda

News & Politics
Salon
Spinsanity
MoveOn
Daily Kos
The Daily Howler
Liberal Oasis
David Rees
ACT For Victory

Magazines &c
Nerve
McSweeney's
The Believer
Adbusters
The Chicago Reader
Vice
Chunklet
The2ndHand
This Is Grand
606

culture of fear
03 March 2003

Now this is how to spend a day. Robin, being the terrible influence she is, convinced me to cut out of work at noon. We went to Terrapin and watched the snow fall, read the paper, talked about politics, and drank copious amounts of coffee. Then I came here, worked on my website, and got a call from Robin (why won't she leave me alone?!) telling me to turn on Oprah because Michael Moore was the guest. For once, I actually watched Oprah, and enjoyed Moore's interview. I've been meaning to see Bowling For Columbine for a while, but I've been procrastinating. Anyway, one of Moore's points, aside from the rather obvious observation about our country's obsession with guns, is that we're a culture that's afraid of all the wrong things and none of the right ones, and that perhaps this is part of the reason we're so attached to our weapons. This got me thinking, and I came up with the following list.

THINGS WORTH FEARING / THINGS NOT WORTH FEARING

illiteracy / gay people
handgun violence / biological weapons
AIDS / anthrax
sexism / razor blades in Halloween candy
underfunded schools / Iraq
poverty / taxes on stock dividends
corporations / black people
rapists / men
liars / shark attacks
malls / playgrounds
advertisers / activists
hype / flying
arrogant foreign policy / immigrants
government corruption / color-coded alerts
Rush Limbaugh / Jesse Jackson
fundamentalism / Ghandi
reality television / public television
Britney Spears / Dr Dre


as not to offend or annoy, or strike a bad note
as not to damage or destroy, or say a bad word
I gave directions to the nearest coffee shop

[Self]


0 Comments

Back & Forth