Current

Archives

Host

Profile

Buy my CD

Photo Log

NEW BLOG
LOCATION


Links:

Blogs &c
The Jeaun
Nounatron
Specific Objects
Oltremare
Hot Lotion
NolanPop
Putain
Weebs
From The South
Furia
Sunday Kofax
Lizz
Robin
Faery Face
Until Later
Slower
Slatch
The Chicagoist
Neal Pollack
< ? chicago blogs # >

Music
Nolan
Burn Disco Burn
Pitchfork
Last Plane To Jakarta
All Music Guide
Better Propaganda

News & Politics
Salon
Spinsanity
MoveOn
Daily Kos
The Daily Howler
Liberal Oasis
David Rees
ACT For Victory

Magazines &c
Nerve
McSweeney's
The Believer
Adbusters
The Chicago Reader
Vice
Chunklet
The2ndHand
This Is Grand
606

The Amazing Adventure
04 March 2003

I'm pretty sure I hate every single commercial shown on Fox during the Simpsons reruns.

Ah, unemployment. Funny how days off lose their luster when they're unstructured. Bored and lazy, I watched The Basketball Diaries, which is pretty much the definition of mediocrity. Finally, I decided to go running, which in a perverse way is a lazy cure for laziness.

Boy, was that a mistake. Driving to the fieldhouse took about twenty minutes in the snow, what with the traffic and the snow, and my car's poor traction, and the snow.

The drive back took even longer because I went down Riverside and picked up a burrito at Panchero's. It was now rush hour and every stop light took forever. I was starving but I refused to break into my burrito in the car because I'm experimenting with new forms of delayed gratification.

On Gilbert, heading up towards Bowery, I saw a man dressed entirely in black run into the street. He hopped around, gesticulating wildly and dodging cars. I looked in the rearview mirror, trying to figure out what his deal was. It almost looked like he was trying to commandeer a passing car.

In a few weeks, this snow will melt and the river will rise, and we'll all get our sneakers wet, slogging through April. It'll be wonderful.

eyes still adjusting
I have nothing to look at you with
but the world that I'm in
I fill my days with work because I'm lazy

[The Loud Family]


0 Comments

Back & Forth