Current

Archives

Host

Profile

Buy my CD

Photo Log

NEW BLOG
LOCATION


Links:

Blogs &c
The Jeaun
Nounatron
Specific Objects
Oltremare
Hot Lotion
NolanPop
Putain
Weebs
From The South
Furia
Sunday Kofax
Lizz
Robin
Faery Face
Until Later
Slower
Slatch
The Chicagoist
Neal Pollack
< ? chicago blogs # >

Music
Nolan
Burn Disco Burn
Pitchfork
Last Plane To Jakarta
All Music Guide
Better Propaganda

News & Politics
Salon
Spinsanity
MoveOn
Daily Kos
The Daily Howler
Liberal Oasis
David Rees
ACT For Victory

Magazines &c
Nerve
McSweeney's
The Believer
Adbusters
The Chicago Reader
Vice
Chunklet
The2ndHand
This Is Grand
606

Hope
27 March 2003

I�ve got a secret: I�ve always sort of enjoyed being in big crowds. Generally I hate human contact that isn�t familiar or mutual or planned in advance, and I cherish my personal space. But the automatic feeling of belonging that comes from being one of a throng is ineffible and hard to duplicate. Even though I was one of the Alternative Outsiders in high school, I got a clandestine frisson from pep rallies. All the energy, all the positiveness, all the comraderie.

Maybe that�s why I got chills when I saw Clinton speak tonight. Or maybe it was just from seeing the man who, when I was sixteen, shook my hand, got elected, and made me think, perhaps na�vely, but regularly over the next eight years, that good things were possible from our leaders. It's not a feeling I've had for a while now.

I wasn�t even really planning on going to see him speak. Again, I wanted to avoid the teeming crowds of young people shouting platitudes, the chattering queues waiting for tickets, the impossible traffic before and afterwards. But then Jenn said she wanted to go, and we debated over whether it was worth it, and then at the last minute, we thought, what the hell. We didn�t have tickets, but we walked way the fuck over to Carver to check out the scene. As it turned out, surplus tickets were readily available, and we walked right in without waiting.

And I won�t go into detail about his speech. There are probably transcripts of it or similar talks available. Let me just say that it was so refreshing, so comforting, to listen to an oration by an American leader who can 1) speak in complete sentences, 2) pronounce the word �nuclear� correctly, and 3) actually take questions afterwards.

I would have settled for that, but I got more: he quoted literature, made jokes, illustrated the complexities of world politics in stark relief without oversimplifying, responded to two separate hecklers with humor and aplomb, and even provided the first explanation of the war in Iraq that I can actually get my head around. I wasn�t expecting those things. I had forgotten that such leaders existed. I thought we had to settle for cowboy rhetoric and secretive arrogance.

God, I miss him.

The world will come around. It has to; we have no other choice.


the little deuce coupe
the fox on the run
the fugue state aphasia
the ego dismantled
the kiss in the fourth grade
the sex in the bathroom
the theme varied slightly
the four-county crackdown
the Heisenberg threshold
the virgin conception

[The Loud Family]


0 Comments

Back & Forth