Current

Archives

Host

Profile

Buy my CD

Photo Log

NEW BLOG
LOCATION


Links:

Blogs &c
The Jeaun
Nounatron
Specific Objects
Oltremare
Hot Lotion
NolanPop
Putain
Weebs
From The South
Furia
Sunday Kofax
Lizz
Robin
Faery Face
Until Later
Slower
Slatch
The Chicagoist
Neal Pollack
< ? chicago blogs # >

Music
Nolan
Burn Disco Burn
Pitchfork
Last Plane To Jakarta
All Music Guide
Better Propaganda

News & Politics
Salon
Spinsanity
MoveOn
Daily Kos
The Daily Howler
Liberal Oasis
David Rees
ACT For Victory

Magazines &c
Nerve
McSweeney's
The Believer
Adbusters
The Chicago Reader
Vice
Chunklet
The2ndHand
This Is Grand
606

Iowa City's finest
27 April 2003

Okay. I'll make this quick 'cause there's a lot to squeeze in. After my last post, things only continued in bizarre Iowa City fashion. On the way to Leah's house, I was talking to my mom on the phone. I walked by a house that was having a massive party on the roof of their porch. They began screaming at me. They said, "Keep walking, queer." I stopped for a moment, not so much upset as perplexed. That's when they yelled, "Don't stop, faggot! Keep walking, you pussy bitch!" So I did. My mom said she heard some people in the background. I told her what they were saying and she thought I was kidding. When I assured her I wasn't, she was incredulous and then angry. I told her, that's Iowa City for you.

So I got to Leah's and she and Jenn encouraged me to call the police. So I did. They sent an officer over to us and I told him what happened. He said that he would go over there, write them up for disorderly conduct, and probably shut the party down, since there were no doubt underage drinkers there. Jenn told him it's depressing that there are people in Iowa City with that much hatred built up inside. He just nodded and said, "You should ride with me for a shift. I've lost my faith in humanity." We thanked him and, on our way downtown, saw that the party had attracted two cop cars and several people were being questioned on the front lawn. I felt slightly vindicated, though I know it's not going to stop that kind of behavior in the future.

So we went to the Deadwood, where Ransom, Dino and I discussed our favorite Led Zeppelin songs and resolved to see The Real Cancun today. (I'll give you a full report afterwards.) Then the Alley Cat, which I hadn't been to in a while, and where I saw a sizable G-Town contingent including John Bierman.

At Jimmy John's afterwards, a drunk person began pounding on the window outside and screaming things. One of the employees came out from behind the counter and told him to fucking stop it. The drunk window-pounder began cursing and informing everyone within his shouting range that his father was a lawyer and woe to the person who chose to fuck with him, etc etc. On the way to Jimmy John's, we ran into Jenn's friend who is slated to be the Playboy centerfold in two months. Keep your eyes peeled.

Speaking of Playboy, check this out. I totally called this, though I'm not sure I should be so proud of myself.


0 Comments

Back & Forth