Current

Archives

Host

Profile

Buy my CD

Photo Log

NEW BLOG
LOCATION


Links:

Blogs &c
The Jeaun
Nounatron
Specific Objects
Oltremare
Hot Lotion
NolanPop
Putain
Weebs
From The South
Furia
Sunday Kofax
Lizz
Robin
Faery Face
Until Later
Slower
Slatch
The Chicagoist
Neal Pollack
< ? chicago blogs # >

Music
Nolan
Burn Disco Burn
Pitchfork
Last Plane To Jakarta
All Music Guide
Better Propaganda

News & Politics
Salon
Spinsanity
MoveOn
Daily Kos
The Daily Howler
Liberal Oasis
David Rees
ACT For Victory

Magazines &c
Nerve
McSweeney's
The Believer
Adbusters
The Chicago Reader
Vice
Chunklet
The2ndHand
This Is Grand
606

You shall know our pomposity
12 June 2003

I was listening to the DPlan's "Academy Award" today and for the first time noticed that, near the end, before the mini guitar solo, Travis screams, "Aw Jason, take it home!" That's just plain funny.

Also got Sacrament in the mail, and read the new addition. The verdict's still out, but I'll just say it's a bit of a mindfuck. But worth reading, for anyone who enjoyed the original book.

From tonight's Daily Show ...
JON STEWART: How old are you?
LUDACRIS: I'm forever young. I just turned forever young not too long ago.
JS: That's funny, because I grew up forever old.
LUDACRIS: Ha ha! That's funny, right there.

Today we took the kids to the pool, and it was a nice change of pace. I played with them in the water, giving them piggy back rides, sneaking up on them underwater like a shark, tossing them up into the air so they could plunge back down into the water, tiny six-year-olds whooping and screaming with delight. If only it were always this easy to win people over, to give them pure joy. Later, I laid briefly on my towel on the deck and felt the sun burning my skin while the pool radio blared classic rock, and "Feel Like Making Love" has never sounded so damn good.

Speaking of which, head over to Slatch and take the poll. My 5 least favorite classic rock songs were "Bad To The Bone", "Brown Eyed Girl", "Cocaine", "Paradise By The Dashboard Light", and "Take The Money And Run", though I could have chosen a lot more than five.


0 Comments

Back & Forth