Current

Archives

Host

Profile

Buy my CD

Photo Log

NEW BLOG
LOCATION


Links:

Blogs &c
The Jeaun
Nounatron
Specific Objects
Oltremare
Hot Lotion
NolanPop
Putain
Weebs
From The South
Furia
Sunday Kofax
Lizz
Robin
Faery Face
Until Later
Slower
Slatch
The Chicagoist
Neal Pollack
< ? chicago blogs # >

Music
Nolan
Burn Disco Burn
Pitchfork
Last Plane To Jakarta
All Music Guide
Better Propaganda

News & Politics
Salon
Spinsanity
MoveOn
Daily Kos
The Daily Howler
Liberal Oasis
David Rees
ACT For Victory

Magazines &c
Nerve
McSweeney's
The Believer
Adbusters
The Chicago Reader
Vice
Chunklet
The2ndHand
This Is Grand
606

Whaler
12 August 2003

Five years ago:

Today Molly and I took the Whaler out for a quick joyride, just for the hell of it. We sped across the blue, tacked out east towards the gigantic houses and the outlet, pondering aloud the obscene enormity of those estates. We were going fast and I sat on the prow feeling thrilled as the wind blasted my face, contemplating the sunny expanse of shimmering water.

"I would love to just have a tour of some of those," she yelled over the wind.

"I would love to just sit down with the people who live inside them and listen to them talk; try to figure out how they function."

"The crazy thing is, they probably only use them about two months out of the whole year."

I shook my head sadly, but not too sadly. It was a self-indulgent melancholy and I was aware of the rippling water�s innate beauty as it vanished beneath us at forty miles an hour. We watched the same water get spat out the back in the tiny boat�s spastic wake, and she steered the boat in mad zigzags, veering back and forth so that I had to hold on to the plastic shell.

But then we all slept in this weird one-story motel with really thin flimsy walls and leaking pipes and tacky dark red carpeting. I slept next to Molly; Andrew and Erin in the bed next to us. In the morning we all jumped around like kids on Saturday morning, jumping on the beds and pouncing on each other.

The summer crawls forward, but I feel like I�m being dragged behind it, in the gravel. Eventually everything will settle and the simplicity will preclude anything else that might have once mattered.


0 Comments

Back & Forth