Current

Archives

Host

Profile

Buy my CD

Photo Log

NEW BLOG
LOCATION


Links:

Blogs &c
The Jeaun
Nounatron
Specific Objects
Oltremare
Hot Lotion
NolanPop
Putain
Weebs
From The South
Furia
Sunday Kofax
Lizz
Robin
Faery Face
Until Later
Slower
Slatch
The Chicagoist
Neal Pollack
< ? chicago blogs # >

Music
Nolan
Burn Disco Burn
Pitchfork
Last Plane To Jakarta
All Music Guide
Better Propaganda

News & Politics
Salon
Spinsanity
MoveOn
Daily Kos
The Daily Howler
Liberal Oasis
David Rees
ACT For Victory

Magazines &c
Nerve
McSweeney's
The Believer
Adbusters
The Chicago Reader
Vice
Chunklet
The2ndHand
This Is Grand
606

Baltimore
24 October 2003

My last post didn't leave much room to talk about the Manhattan show, which was awesome. Ms Sarah Burk took us out for Thai food beforehand, and walked with Dino (an NYC virgin) up to Times Square so he could bask in the garishness. I reunited with my brother, who's in town for the conference, and Win, who welcomed us with open arms and later said we "positively reeked of Iowa road awesomeness." As for the set itself, we were on a CMJ bill for all intents and purposes, but no breathless label reps approached us afterwards, which is probably just as well, since we're already on a label. The bartender was a statuesque blonde from Australia who gave me several free beers beyond the band drink special, though I couldn't really tell if she was flirting with me since Siberia strictly prohibits "cursing and hitting on women." Though I think I swore a few times later on, upstairs, and no one kicked me out.

Last night was the Mojo in Baltimore. The guy who booked us is absolutely gaga about any bands from Iowa City, since his band got in a horrible car wreck there many years ago. You'd think he would harbor some bitterness about the place, but he couldn't stop raving about the great strip clubs and hot girls he always sees when he goes to Iowa. Our crowd at the Mojo was also very enthusiastic, and included a couple girls who kept yelling "Nolan rocks!" I thought maybe they were being sarcastic, but then they bought CDs, and it's pretty hard to make an ironic CD purchase (believe me, I've tried). I've also noticed that, as we get further east, Dino plays up the fact that we're from Iowa, since the Midwest is a pretty exotic and unfamiliar place to a lot of people out here. It's not unusual now, before a song, to hear Dino say, "We're from Iowa, and this is how we do things out there. ONE TWO THREE FOUR! ... " I think he may be losing his mind. Then again, we've been out on the road for three weeks now, so we're probably all a little loopy. Loopier.

My cousin Ryan also made it down for the show, and we were once again treated to horrifically awesome hospitality at the home of my aunt and uncle (a different set than before) in Columbia. It's hard to come to the DC area and not be within 30 miles of one of my relatives.

Tonight we go back up to Jersey City to see Sarah again and play a show there. Then back to DC. Something tells me we're going to be getting very familiar with the Jersey Turnpike (and its obnoxious tolls) over the next few days.


0 Comments

Back & Forth