Current

Archives

Host

Profile

Buy my CD

Photo Log

NEW BLOG
LOCATION


Links:

Blogs &c
The Jeaun
Nounatron
Specific Objects
Oltremare
Hot Lotion
NolanPop
Putain
Weebs
From The South
Furia
Sunday Kofax
Lizz
Robin
Faery Face
Until Later
Slower
Slatch
The Chicagoist
Neal Pollack
< ? chicago blogs # >

Music
Nolan
Burn Disco Burn
Pitchfork
Last Plane To Jakarta
All Music Guide
Better Propaganda

News & Politics
Salon
Spinsanity
MoveOn
Daily Kos
The Daily Howler
Liberal Oasis
David Rees
ACT For Victory

Magazines &c
Nerve
McSweeney's
The Believer
Adbusters
The Chicago Reader
Vice
Chunklet
The2ndHand
This Is Grand
606

The immaterial substance
14 November 2003

Three things I learned while watching VH1's 200 Pop Culture Icons today:

� The producers of Gone With The Wind had to pay a $5000 fine for the use of the word �damn.�

� Joe DiMaggio was the first professional athelete to make a $100,000 salary.

� Al Pacino only made $35000 for the first Godfather.

All this while doing the Friday NYT crossword. I could feel my brain splitting in two.

"Please acknowledge receipt because my computer is playing dirty tricks on me and my ignorance." �The last sentence of a letter from one of my father's friends in Russia

Katie: You're totally right about Quiet Is The New Loud. Two years ago I discovered it's a great album for early winter, especially the first snowfall. Especially the last song.

What's the immaterial substance that envelopes two
that one percieves as hunger and the other as food?
I wake in tangled covers to a sash of snow
you dream in a cartoon garden I could never know


1 Comments

Back & Forth