Current

Archives

Host

Profile

Buy my CD

Photo Log

NEW BLOG
LOCATION


Links:

Blogs &c
The Jeaun
Nounatron
Specific Objects
Oltremare
Hot Lotion
NolanPop
Putain
Weebs
From The South
Furia
Sunday Kofax
Lizz
Robin
Faery Face
Until Later
Slower
Slatch
The Chicagoist
Neal Pollack
< ? chicago blogs # >

Music
Nolan
Burn Disco Burn
Pitchfork
Last Plane To Jakarta
All Music Guide
Better Propaganda

News & Politics
Salon
Spinsanity
MoveOn
Daily Kos
The Daily Howler
Liberal Oasis
David Rees
ACT For Victory

Magazines &c
Nerve
McSweeney's
The Believer
Adbusters
The Chicago Reader
Vice
Chunklet
The2ndHand
This Is Grand
606

No guarantees
24 December 2003

So I've been listening to the new Ryan Adams album Love Is Hell. (It's really two EPs which his label forced him to release as such after his stupid "real" album came out, but I'm going to refer to the EPs as his new album). I've always been somewhat dismissive of Adams because, as a person, he comes off as a royal asshole, and no matter how talented a performer is, it's pretty hard for me to look past a repellent personality. Plus, he's dating Parker Posey, and that makes me jealous. So maybe I hadn't given him his musical due. But holy shit. This album is beautiful. His cover of "Wonderwall"? Are you fucking kidding me? Perfect. Just perfect. "Shadowlands", "Political Scientist" ... this is great stuff. Who knows, it might just bump something off of my year's top ten list, here in the very last days. Thank you, Dino, for giving it to me.

Last night was a completely unexpected and fulfilling time at the bar. My brother and I went down because we had nothing else to do, and it turned out a bunch of friendships were there. Some good friends from high school were there, and we caught up. I played darts with Hannah and talked with Wes and Adam and Aaron, and everyone was having a good time and it was just that simple. There's really no other way I can say it. Except there were these two girls there who decided to take their pants off and walk around in their underpants for a while, which was not in the least bit titillating, but in fact rather disturbing. But it makes for a good story. And I learned that a guy from my high school who used to call me a fag all the time is now a male stripper in a gay bar in Chicago. Sweet, sweet irony.

Now, it's off to a Christmas Eve party. Such a great idea. My brother and I are bringing a CD of obnoxious Christmas carols. It's weighed down pretty heavily by Mannheim Steamroller.


1 Comments

Back & Forth