Current

Archives

Host

Profile

Buy my CD

Photo Log

NEW BLOG
LOCATION


Links:

Blogs &c
The Jeaun
Nounatron
Specific Objects
Oltremare
Hot Lotion
NolanPop
Putain
Weebs
From The South
Furia
Sunday Kofax
Lizz
Robin
Faery Face
Until Later
Slower
Slatch
The Chicagoist
Neal Pollack
< ? chicago blogs # >

Music
Nolan
Burn Disco Burn
Pitchfork
Last Plane To Jakarta
All Music Guide
Better Propaganda

News & Politics
Salon
Spinsanity
MoveOn
Daily Kos
The Daily Howler
Liberal Oasis
David Rees
ACT For Victory

Magazines &c
Nerve
McSweeney's
The Believer
Adbusters
The Chicago Reader
Vice
Chunklet
The2ndHand
This Is Grand
606

A miniature gentleman
19 February 2004

At the bottom of the hill that we lived on two years ago, there was a Kum & Go. Some nights, right around one or two, Mark and Neil and I would blast down the hill to see if the Krispy Kreme truck had arrived. If it had, it meant we got free doughnuts during the changeover from last night�s to tonight�s. Day-old doughnuts, especially Krispy Kremes, are barely distinguishable from fresh ones. That particular K&G was also a favorite stop on the way home from the bar, of course, and Neil would go in and flirt with the girl who worked there while at the same time shoplifting ridiculous things like sunglasses, novelty pens, and at one point, a large stuffed bunny. One time he went right up to the counter, looked at her and said, �You�re beautiful.� He was drunk and, fortunately for him, she was flattered.

I now know of two lawyers on my floor who are my age. These people were born the same year I was and graduated from college at the same time I did. Difference is, while I went to Lawrence, they went to Brown and Yale, and while I was content to spend my days banging on drums after graduation, they said, "You know what? This BA/BS isn't quite good enough. I'll take one of those law degrees while I'm at it. Columbia? Harvard? Are you interested? And I'll take a summa cum laude while you're at it." I'll summa their cum laudes.

Here�s a confession: this morning I was rocking out at my desk to Living Colour. Time�s Up. That�s right. And there�s nothing you can do about it. Then I listened to all three Soul Coughing albums, because it�s been a while. Now there�s a band that makes me nostalgic for senior year and especially the boys at the Jeaun. Will you shoot the blue earth down? in the space station, polishing the raygun, you say correlation is not causation ...

Two mornings in a row now I�ve seen the same kid on his way to school at Pritzker. He�s probably about ten, and pudgy, walking alone, and he�s got his hair immaculately combed into a sophisticated, sweeping configuration. It�s wonderful. Today I saw him getting off the train as I was getting on. I love the thought of him styling his hair meticulously and then marching off to the train. He�s like a minuature gentleman. I love that little dude.

This week's War Against Silence makes some really good points about the so-called "defense" of marriage.

Last night I went on a small shopping expedition to North Michigan. I saw the first sunset I�ve seen in a long time: small pink clouds in a dark blue sky in the small spaces between buildings. Snow was melting everywhere, water dripping off the pedestrian canopies and onto people�s heads. It�s too early for spring, but already people are walking differently; �we walk with our heads up instead of down.� Already, there�s a change. At least until the next snowfall.


0 Comments

Back & Forth