Current

Archives

Host

Profile

Buy my CD

Photo Log

NEW BLOG
LOCATION


Links:

Blogs &c
The Jeaun
Nounatron
Specific Objects
Oltremare
Hot Lotion
NolanPop
Putain
Weebs
From The South
Furia
Sunday Kofax
Lizz
Robin
Faery Face
Until Later
Slower
Slatch
The Chicagoist
Neal Pollack
< ? chicago blogs # >

Music
Nolan
Burn Disco Burn
Pitchfork
Last Plane To Jakarta
All Music Guide
Better Propaganda

News & Politics
Salon
Spinsanity
MoveOn
Daily Kos
The Daily Howler
Liberal Oasis
David Rees
ACT For Victory

Magazines &c
Nerve
McSweeney's
The Believer
Adbusters
The Chicago Reader
Vice
Chunklet
The2ndHand
This Is Grand
606

Done, pending completion
09 March 2004

So this morning I'm in the breakroom making my tea and there's a woman in there who's in my project group and seems a little nutty. She's at the sink, then she goes over to the fridge but leaves the water running for no apparent reason. So I use it to rinse out my cup and then turn it off. Then, she goes back over to the sink, but leaves the freezer door wide open for a full minute while she's at the sink. I close it so I can get to my milk in the fridge. A few seconds later she says, "You're going to open that door back up, right?" I smile because I think she's kidding around, but she's not. So I open the freezer door, even though she's still at the sink and seems to have no plans to return to the fridge anytime soon. I slink out of the breakroom feeling like I've committed some grave sin in my paltry efforts to conserve water and electricity.

JASON: Vespa amuses me, and is generally a positive influence in my life.
ME: Yeah, same here.
JASON: I feel the same way about you. Except you pay rent.
ME: I don�t poop in a box, either.

I read in Esquire that visible undershirts are the male equivalent of panty lines. But I don�t really care if anyone can see my panties.

Yesterday my project group had a meeting whose bulk conisisted of a discussion straight out of Orwell and/or Dilbert about how we define the word �done� in our documentation, and whether that definition needed to be changed. I didn�t realize legal assistants could be so post-structuralist. Suggested alternatives to �done� included �ready,� �finished,� and �complete.� I muttered �done pending completion,� which got a chuckle from the guy sitting next to me. Then at the end of the meeting there were a bunch of lame jokes about how the meeting was now �done.�

Good things right now:

- Finding Ghost World used at Reckless
- Discovering new music via Fluxblog
- Finding out Erlend Oye will be here Thursday
- Reading The Ginger Man by JP Donleavy
- GWB�s daily and steady decline
- Harmony vocals


0 Comments

Back & Forth