Current

Archives

Host

Profile

Buy my CD

Photo Log

NEW BLOG
LOCATION


Links:

Blogs &c
The Jeaun
Nounatron
Specific Objects
Oltremare
Hot Lotion
NolanPop
Putain
Weebs
From The South
Furia
Sunday Kofax
Lizz
Robin
Faery Face
Until Later
Slower
Slatch
The Chicagoist
Neal Pollack
< ? chicago blogs # >

Music
Nolan
Burn Disco Burn
Pitchfork
Last Plane To Jakarta
All Music Guide
Better Propaganda

News & Politics
Salon
Spinsanity
MoveOn
Daily Kos
The Daily Howler
Liberal Oasis
David Rees
ACT For Victory

Magazines &c
Nerve
McSweeney's
The Believer
Adbusters
The Chicago Reader
Vice
Chunklet
The2ndHand
This Is Grand
606

Alack the day
20 March 2004

I've been lax in my updates. Sorry about that. Are lax and lackadaisical etymologically linked? I thought maybe they were, but then I took it to Dictionary.com and it turns out they're not. Lackadaisical is derived from lackadaisy, an alteration of lackaday, itself an alteration of alack the day, which of course is an archaic interjection dating back to Shakespeare. And of course lax is from the Latin laxus, meaning loose. I've been thinking a lot about words lately because I'm rereading DFW's famous Harper's essay. Famous among nerds, maybe.

Sorry about that paragraph. Let's try this again. Today the weather was gorgeous, if a little windy, everyone heralding spring's arrival a bit prematurely, perhaps, and heading over to the beach or maybe to an anti-war-cum-commemoration-of-the-anniversary-of-the-war's-launch rally down in the loop. I took the bus to North Ave beach and walked around a little bit, looking at the choppy water and watching the runners and bikers and bladers and dog walkers. I felt fortunate to live in a town where it's possible to stand at the edge of Lake Michigan. On the way back to my place, I walked past a parked car on Damen whose roof had been crushed by a fallen lamp post. The post was huge�much bigger than they look when they're standing upright and aloft and safely out of the way as they should be, illuminating things and not destroying people's cars, not putting a huge gouge through the center of the aluminum roof that surely would've killed anyone who'd been sitting inside. I felt sorry for the car's owner, but at the same time, it was awesome.

Man, I forgot how good Whip-Smart is.

There are seven people in Aden's living room right now watching the McSweeney's #11 DVD that contains an audio commentary on the editing of the making of the McSweeney's #11 DVD. It's quadruple-meta and I can feel my frontal lobe beginning to turn itself inside out. I realized I hate McSweeney's because they come up with all the same shit I do, except then they do it.


0 Comments

Back & Forth