Current

Archives

Host

Profile

Buy my CD

Photo Log

NEW BLOG
LOCATION


Links:

Blogs &c
The Jeaun
Nounatron
Specific Objects
Oltremare
Hot Lotion
NolanPop
Putain
Weebs
From The South
Furia
Sunday Kofax
Lizz
Robin
Faery Face
Until Later
Slower
Slatch
The Chicagoist
Neal Pollack
< ? chicago blogs # >

Music
Nolan
Burn Disco Burn
Pitchfork
Last Plane To Jakarta
All Music Guide
Better Propaganda

News & Politics
Salon
Spinsanity
MoveOn
Daily Kos
The Daily Howler
Liberal Oasis
David Rees
ACT For Victory

Magazines &c
Nerve
McSweeney's
The Believer
Adbusters
The Chicago Reader
Vice
Chunklet
The2ndHand
This Is Grand
606

Your new math is treason
19 May 2004

Bust an additional move.

This weekend included, but was not limited to: four nights at the pub, six hundred miles on the odometron, four picnics, two games of disc golf, two audiobook hours of A People's History Of The United States (read by Matt Damon), one fancy dinner, one fancy brunch, many boyfriend points scored with the in-laws, one commencement ceremony, several naps, five days without an update, two thunderstorms, one malfunctioning transmission, two parties at Carter�s, lots of drunk parents, two New Yorkers to catch up with, and plenty of friendship. It also marked what I hope will be my last visit to Grinnell for a while. Much as I love the place, the feeling of being an auslander in my hometown causes a lot of cognitive dissonance and emotional stress. I am psyched to be in Chicago for the summer, playing kickball and getting drunk with my friends. Except for this weekend, when I�ll be in Seattle for a wedding. But after that, oh man. Look out.

Also, happy birthday to my all my slices. I�ve been absolved of having to get my brother anything for his birthday because he�s halfway around the goddamn world. For anyone else, I�ve discovered that a bottle of quality liquor is an easy, grown-up, much-appreciated gift that keeps on giving.

I�ve been reviewed! This is heartening because it�s a predominantly positive review. If my blog were a book (god help us all), this review could provide all my blurbs. The only criticism is that my layout is �outrageously boring," an observation that made me chuckle and to which I�d be the first to cop. To. The reason my layout is less than pants-wettingly inspiring is twofold, and consists of two reasons, of which there are two: 1) I like to keep things simple (it's a zen thing), and 2) my knowledge of HTML is not sufficient to produce a snazzy post-post-modern art deco layout. But if anyone wants to volunteer to redo it, I�m hereby accepting any bids ranging from zero dollars to zero dollars and zero cents.

Two and a half days, then I�m off to the airport: shortest work week ever.


0 Comments

Back & Forth