Current

Archives

Host

Profile

Buy my CD

Photo Log

NEW BLOG
LOCATION


Links:

Blogs &c
The Jeaun
Nounatron
Specific Objects
Oltremare
Hot Lotion
NolanPop
Putain
Weebs
From The South
Furia
Sunday Kofax
Lizz
Robin
Faery Face
Until Later
Slower
Slatch
The Chicagoist
Neal Pollack
< ? chicago blogs # >

Music
Nolan
Burn Disco Burn
Pitchfork
Last Plane To Jakarta
All Music Guide
Better Propaganda

News & Politics
Salon
Spinsanity
MoveOn
Daily Kos
The Daily Howler
Liberal Oasis
David Rees
ACT For Victory

Magazines &c
Nerve
McSweeney's
The Believer
Adbusters
The Chicago Reader
Vice
Chunklet
The2ndHand
This Is Grand
606

Pretzel logic
08 June 2004

"And there are provinces ... clusters of college graduates knotted at the bottom of tall cities, trying to invent community. Everyone has slept with everyone and they all drink together, hoping the alcohol and the music will restore some previously eluded glamour, or obscure its dissipation."

                - Steve Almond, "The Pass"

Man, it's hot outside. But then, I guess I wouldn't be living in the Midwest if I didn't have some masochistic appreciation for meteorological extremes. Hey, remember back in 1995 when that heat wave killed, like, eight hundred Chicagoans? We can do better than that! Let's give it the old college try and see if we can beat our own record!

So I got a new camera today. It's hyperbolically awesome and it's a beautiful bronze-reddish color and is competing with my iPod for Coolest Toy. I knew it was going to be small, but nothing prepared me for the shock of opening it and seeing something not much larger than my cell phone. I think I almost squealed. Actually, what I said was, "Holy shit," right there at my desk. My mom used to say that the difference between a man and a boy is the price of his toys. I think she was trying to be pithy and cautionary, but I guess it didn't work because I clearly haven't learned my lesson.

And now my iPod is playing Steely Dan, which is just weird.


0 Comments

Back & Forth