Current

Archives

Host

Profile

Buy my CD

Photo Log

NEW BLOG
LOCATION


Links:

Blogs &c
The Jeaun
Nounatron
Specific Objects
Oltremare
Hot Lotion
NolanPop
Putain
Weebs
From The South
Furia
Sunday Kofax
Lizz
Robin
Faery Face
Until Later
Slower
Slatch
The Chicagoist
Neal Pollack
< ? chicago blogs # >

Music
Nolan
Burn Disco Burn
Pitchfork
Last Plane To Jakarta
All Music Guide
Better Propaganda

News & Politics
Salon
Spinsanity
MoveOn
Daily Kos
The Daily Howler
Liberal Oasis
David Rees
ACT For Victory

Magazines &c
Nerve
McSweeney's
The Believer
Adbusters
The Chicago Reader
Vice
Chunklet
The2ndHand
This Is Grand
606

Be thankful
26 November 2004

Remember a couple days ago, when I said Thanksgiving was my favorite holiday? Yeah. Scratch that. I forgot how depressing this holiday can be. I forgot how depressing Grinnell can be.

I feel fat and I�m constantly tired.

I don�t even like turkey that much.

I hate having people ask me what I�m up to these days. I hate telling people about my job. (You know you�re in trouble when telling people you�re a paralegal is an aggrandizing untruth.) Even my dentist asked me about my job today, and I answered by gleeking all over myself.

I hate listening to my friends� parents tell me about their kids� successes. I hate having people ask me what �the band� is up to. What about the band? The band is not up to anything.

If I never see another commercial for Black Friday sales, or a "news" report interviewing fat morons at Wal-Mart about today's Christmas shopping, it will be too soon.

I was thinking of making a list of things for which I�m not thankful, but I�ve probably pissed everyone off enough. I'll try this again some other day.


0 Comments

Back & Forth