Current

Archives

Host

Profile

Buy my CD

Photo Log

NEW BLOG
LOCATION


Links:

Blogs &c
The Jeaun
Nounatron
Specific Objects
Oltremare
Hot Lotion
NolanPop
Putain
Weebs
From The South
Furia
Sunday Kofax
Lizz
Robin
Faery Face
Until Later
Slower
Slatch
The Chicagoist
Neal Pollack
< ? chicago blogs # >

Music
Nolan
Burn Disco Burn
Pitchfork
Last Plane To Jakarta
All Music Guide
Better Propaganda

News & Politics
Salon
Spinsanity
MoveOn
Daily Kos
The Daily Howler
Liberal Oasis
David Rees
ACT For Victory

Magazines &c
Nerve
McSweeney's
The Believer
Adbusters
The Chicago Reader
Vice
Chunklet
The2ndHand
This Is Grand
606

Bienneal
07 October 2004

Overheard in the office:

SECRETARY 1: I hate to say this, but I really wouldn't mind if he got assassinated.
SECRETARY 2: Yeah, but then, look at who we'd get instead.
SECRETARY 1: Oh! Oh, oh no. Not Cheney. Oh no, no no.


I've been maintaining this blog here for two years now, though most of the time it seems like it's been much longer since the first entry. Since then, I've generated 439 entries�51 of which mention Ransom�and posted 258 photos�14 of which feature Ransom (clothed in every one, amazingly). What can I say? He's an interesting guy.

I've written 84 entires in praise of beer, 24 in praise of autumn (not fall), and 13 that mention the band Genesis in some way. I wrote roughly 44% of these entries while living in Iowa City, 4% while living in Grinnell, 48% while living in Chicago, and another 4% from points beyond, whether on tour or otherwise in transit. This blog has seen one big bar crawl and several smaller ones, several movie reviews, a shitload of album reviews, a comic strip or two, a couple New Yearsses', a breakup, some awkward attempts at short fiction, a couple weddings, and too many eugugolies.

While some question the worth of the blog and the blogger's compulsive need to make his private thoughts public�and I still raise that very same question all the time�I will say that, for better or worse, this blog has been the single most effective motivator when it comes to my own writing. So I plan to continue with it indefinitely, or at least until my book deal comes through.


5 Comments

Back & Forth