Current

Archives

Host

Profile

Buy my CD

Photo Log

NEW BLOG
LOCATION


Links:

Blogs &c
The Jeaun
Nounatron
Specific Objects
Oltremare
Hot Lotion
NolanPop
Putain
Weebs
From The South
Furia
Sunday Kofax
Lizz
Robin
Faery Face
Until Later
Slower
Slatch
The Chicagoist
Neal Pollack
< ? chicago blogs # >

Music
Nolan
Burn Disco Burn
Pitchfork
Last Plane To Jakarta
All Music Guide
Better Propaganda

News & Politics
Salon
Spinsanity
MoveOn
Daily Kos
The Daily Howler
Liberal Oasis
David Rees
ACT For Victory

Magazines &c
Nerve
McSweeney's
The Believer
Adbusters
The Chicago Reader
Vice
Chunklet
The2ndHand
This Is Grand
606

Book jacket wish list
29 October 2004

My author photo should be either 1) a whimsical childhood photo of myself, preferrably playing with a typewriter or pen and paper as if to augur my future as a successful writer; or 2) a B&W portrait of me in a wool overcoat, standing against an overcast sky, on a rocky precipice above a roiling sea. Maybe #2 for the hardcover and #1 for the paperback?

No raised letters on the hardcover jacket. Matte finish (a la The Corrections), not glossy (a la The Da Vinci Code). Trade paper when it comes out in softcover, no mass market paperback until the third printing, at the very earliest.

Once it�s optioned for film, I'll concede to a cover featuring a still from the movie only if it will boost sales and only if it's someone hot on the cover (John Cusack, yes; Renee Zellweger, no). Of course, I�d help with the screenplay.

I want to �make my home� somewhere, preferrably in multiple places: �Mr. Mohan makes his home in London and in the Hamptons.�

Contrite, rueful testimonials from everyone who called me �faggot� in high school, about how they should have treated me better back then so that today they could bask in the benevolent warmth of my greatness.

Ample bastard pages in the front, for autographs.

Blurbs from the following: David Sedaris, David Byrne, David Foster Wallace, David Cross, David Souter, David Caruso, David DeLillo, David Pynchon, and David Jonanthan Franzen.

My book should be �by turns� something and something else: �By turns tragic and hilarious,� �By turns poignant and brutal,� �By turns great-tasting and less-filling�.


4 Comments

Back & Forth