Current

Archives

Host

Profile

Buy my CD

Photo Log

NEW BLOG
LOCATION


Links:

Blogs &c
The Jeaun
Nounatron
Specific Objects
Oltremare
Hot Lotion
NolanPop
Putain
Weebs
From The South
Furia
Sunday Kofax
Lizz
Robin
Faery Face
Until Later
Slower
Slatch
The Chicagoist
Neal Pollack
< ? chicago blogs # >

Music
Nolan
Burn Disco Burn
Pitchfork
Last Plane To Jakarta
All Music Guide
Better Propaganda

News & Politics
Salon
Spinsanity
MoveOn
Daily Kos
The Daily Howler
Liberal Oasis
David Rees
ACT For Victory

Magazines &c
Nerve
McSweeney's
The Believer
Adbusters
The Chicago Reader
Vice
Chunklet
The2ndHand
This Is Grand
606

Jive talkin'
20 November 2004

Last night I celebrated my one-year anniversary as a Chicago resident by going back to the Beachwood, where I drank many beers and played the following songs on the jukebox:

Boston: More Than A Feeling
Moody Blues: In Your Wildest Dreams
The Thompson Twins: Hold Me Now and Lay Your Hands On Me
The Cars: Let The Good Times Roll
Bee Gees: Jive Talkin'*
Genesis: I Know What I Like (In Your Wardrobe)
Tears For Fears: Head Over Heels
Cutting Crew: (I Just) Died In Your Arms Tonight

*The drum geek in me loves that the synth lick is in 7/4.

When I got home, I tortured my roommates with my latest annoyance strategy: building really obnoxious GarageBand loops. Try it yourself: I recommend country banjo over a 70s funk groove.

Then today, we watched my new favorite movie. I am really going to new lengths to avoid writing my personal statement for grad school. I remember now why I was a poor student in college: I procrastinate. If I dare click on the GarageBand icon at the bottom of my screen, then I'm truly fucked.


0 Comments

Back & Forth