Current

Archives

Host

Profile

Buy my CD

Photo Log

NEW BLOG
LOCATION


Links:

Blogs &c
The Jeaun
Nounatron
Specific Objects
Oltremare
Hot Lotion
NolanPop
Putain
Weebs
From The South
Furia
Sunday Kofax
Lizz
Robin
Faery Face
Until Later
Slower
Slatch
The Chicagoist
Neal Pollack
< ? chicago blogs # >

Music
Nolan
Burn Disco Burn
Pitchfork
Last Plane To Jakarta
All Music Guide
Better Propaganda

News & Politics
Salon
Spinsanity
MoveOn
Daily Kos
The Daily Howler
Liberal Oasis
David Rees
ACT For Victory

Magazines &c
Nerve
McSweeney's
The Believer
Adbusters
The Chicago Reader
Vice
Chunklet
The2ndHand
This Is Grand
606

I put the "lame" back in "lame"
13 September 2004

UPDATE: My short but meaningful concert calendar

9/14: The Rosebuds @ The Double Door (featuring Wes Phillips on drums)
9/16: M83 @ The Empty Bottle
9/20: Tortoise @ Millenium Park - FREE

I'm excited about the first one because of friendship; I'm excited about the last one because of outdoor ass-kicking at no cost to me, the audience member.


I'm struck with a complete lack of anything interesting to say. So I'll just stall until I come up with something better.

Um.

This morning I finished David Remnick's article on Al Gore. It was informative and a little sad. This is a man who says things extemporaneously, in conversation, like this: "One consequence is that there is an emergent triumphalism among market fundamentalists that has assumed an attitude of infallibility and arrogance that has led its aherents to be dismissive and contemptuous of values that are not monetized if they don't fit into their ideology."

And he was supposed to be president. Instead we got the worst US president in the history of the world. How would things be different now if the guy who won had actually become president? It makes me so angry. To anyone who still believes there'd be no difference between a Bush presidency and a Gore presidency: Go fuck yourselves.

Fun facts about Al Gore:

1. He won more popular votes in 2000 than any other Democrat in history, and more than any other candidate ever, except for Reagan in 1984. He won 1.5 million more votes than Bush.

2. He's on Apple's Board of Directors and is a senior advisor for Google. He and Tipper have matching G4 PowerBooks. He never claimed to have invented the Internet.

3. Best of all: Tipper is a drummer and keeps a full drum kit in the living room.

That's all I've got for now. Tonight I'm practicing again with my new band. There are some demos, done with an old drummer, on the site. Start with "Portrait Of Lazarus"; it's my favorite.

Listening to the new Tears For Fears album. Not bad.

I've seen zero famous people today.


0 Comments

Back & Forth