Current

Archives

Host

Profile

Buy my CD

Photo Log

NEW BLOG
LOCATION


Links:

Blogs &c
The Jeaun
Nounatron
Specific Objects
Oltremare
Hot Lotion
NolanPop
Putain
Weebs
From The South
Furia
Sunday Kofax
Lizz
Robin
Faery Face
Until Later
Slower
Slatch
The Chicagoist
Neal Pollack
< ? chicago blogs # >

Music
Nolan
Burn Disco Burn
Pitchfork
Last Plane To Jakarta
All Music Guide
Better Propaganda

News & Politics
Salon
Spinsanity
MoveOn
Daily Kos
The Daily Howler
Liberal Oasis
David Rees
ACT For Victory

Magazines &c
Nerve
McSweeney's
The Believer
Adbusters
The Chicago Reader
Vice
Chunklet
The2ndHand
This Is Grand
606

Doctor incommunicado
15 August 2004



I've been away for a few days.

North woods of Wisconsin, to be more specific. Devil's Lake, to be even more specific. 45deg55'28"N 091deg34'23"W, to be gratingly specific.

During my very pleasant weekend, I had absolutely no access to the Internet, phones, television, or the CTA, and I loved it. I was in bed by 10:30 every night and ate fresh food for every meal, and I think it nearly killed me.

I shot a pellet gun. I rowed an actual boat. I visited the Freshwater Fishing Hall Of Fame. I got my James Herriot on and saw the following animals up close and in the wild: goldfinches, hummingbirds, beavers, kingfishers, loons, grosbeaks, a family of black bears (for real), and a domesticated cat.

I finished one book and started another. I read Ron Reagan's excellent Esquire article. I missed out on a news cycle or two, featuring a hurricane, a disgraced (but fabulous!) governor, and a deceased chef.

I returned to civilization to find a nimiety of CDs from Amazon. Now I am reading the Sunday Times with Margaret and trying to decide between watching some of the Olympics or an episode of The Office or, ideally, both.

Entertaining, newly discovered links: Metacritic, This Is Grand, and Win's latest Friendster persona.


4 Comments

Back & Forth