Current

Archives

Host

Profile

Buy my CD

Photo Log

NEW BLOG
LOCATION


Links:

Blogs &c
The Jeaun
Nounatron
Specific Objects
Oltremare
Hot Lotion
NolanPop
Putain
Weebs
From The South
Furia
Sunday Kofax
Lizz
Robin
Faery Face
Until Later
Slower
Slatch
The Chicagoist
Neal Pollack
< ? chicago blogs # >

Music
Nolan
Burn Disco Burn
Pitchfork
Last Plane To Jakarta
All Music Guide
Better Propaganda

News & Politics
Salon
Spinsanity
MoveOn
Daily Kos
The Daily Howler
Liberal Oasis
David Rees
ACT For Victory

Magazines &c
Nerve
McSweeney's
The Believer
Adbusters
The Chicago Reader
Vice
Chunklet
The2ndHand
This Is Grand
606

Damn you, writer's block!
20 August 2004

Fun Things To Type:
Medical Center
Baton Rouge
Pharmacy

Fighter jets are practicing for the air show tomorrow, flying low to the ground and making lots of noise and generally giving everyone in the Loop the willies.

I�ve decided that I�m not meant to spend the rest of my life in a big city. I don�t want to live in a small town, either. So it looks like I�ll be settling in a pleasant, mid-sized community. Joliet, here I come!

This summer has seen several albums released which are arguably comebacks by bands I count among my favorites. Last week, I purchased three of them: Orbital�s swan song The Blue Album, Macha�s Forget Tomorrow, and Codename: Dustsucker by Bark Psychosis. My reaction to all of them has pretty much been the same, and progresses thusly: �Well, this is pretty good so far. It doesn�t flat-out suck, like I was afraid it would.� Then: �This is a good track. I�ll add this to my Favorites playlist.� Then: �I just listened to this whole album all the way through, twice in a row, and it definitely made my day better.� And finally: �Holy shit. Can I somehow copulate with this album so we can have great-album babies?�

Speaking of great albums, I�m almost through my big fifty, for those of you still awake and keeping track. At first I was going to cut it off after I Can Hear The Heart (#43), since I felt like I�d written all there was to write about my junior year of college. Then I took a breath, listened to a few more favorites, and found that, lo and behold, my logorrhea had kicked right back into high gear. So there are a few left, and then I�ll put the whole thing to bed. The challenge with the remaining albums will be to somehow avoid my already heavily-trodden memoiristic Jeopardy! categories: London, The Year 1998, Wes & Mark, Grinnell, Bands I�ve Been In, Iowa City, and Potent Potables.

Overheard snippet of attorney's phone conversation: "Why can't you just pronounce John Kerry's name like the rest of the country does?"


4 Comments

Back & Forth