Current

Archives

Host

Profile

Buy my CD

Photo Log

NEW BLOG
LOCATION


Links:

Blogs &c
The Jeaun
Nounatron
Specific Objects
Oltremare
Hot Lotion
NolanPop
Putain
Weebs
From The South
Furia
Sunday Kofax
Lizz
Robin
Faery Face
Until Later
Slower
Slatch
The Chicagoist
Neal Pollack
< ? chicago blogs # >

Music
Nolan
Burn Disco Burn
Pitchfork
Last Plane To Jakarta
All Music Guide
Better Propaganda

News & Politics
Salon
Spinsanity
MoveOn
Daily Kos
The Daily Howler
Liberal Oasis
David Rees
ACT For Victory

Magazines &c
Nerve
McSweeney's
The Believer
Adbusters
The Chicago Reader
Vice
Chunklet
The2ndHand
This Is Grand
606

... in which I acquire a pet and play with my cell phone.
11 October 2002

There is a cat who�s been living under our back steps and comes out to greet me, very vocally, whenever I come home. She�ll follow me around to the front, up onto the porch, and try to nudge her way through the front door unless I block her. My heart breaks every time I have to leave her sitting out there in the cold. The last few days, my roommates and I have been keeping an eye on her, and I�ve been leaving some food out every night. She�s scrawny and very obviously starving, both for food and attention. Tonight, I went out on the porch to enjoy the cool night air and have my first beer in six days. As soon as I sat down, the cat hopped onto my lap, put her front paws on my chest, and leaned in to look me straight in the eyes, face to face. I briefly worried about the germs and diseases that a stray cat might carry, but I couldn�t help it. I petted her and eventually pushed her off my lap, after she had thoroughly kneaded her front paws against my work clothes. I came back inside and immediately printed off a bunch of FOUND posters, which I will put up tomorrow. If no one claims her, I guess I�ll have to take her to the animal shelter. I�ve heard they hold animals there for three weeks, then put them to sleep. I don�t want that to happen.

The other morning, I was lying in bed, playing with my new cell phone, watching the Daily Show. A commercial for the new PT Anderson movie came on. I sat through it, and when it was over, I made a note of the release date, tried to close my gaping jaw, and returned to my stupid phone, realizing with not a little shame that I was never going to accompish anything nearly tantamount to Anderson�s achievements as long as I was sleeping in and lying in bed playing with my cell phone.


0 Comments

Back & Forth