Current

Archives

Host

Profile

Buy my CD

Photo Log

NEW BLOG
LOCATION


Links:

Blogs &c
The Jeaun
Nounatron
Specific Objects
Oltremare
Hot Lotion
NolanPop
Putain
Weebs
From The South
Furia
Sunday Kofax
Lizz
Robin
Faery Face
Until Later
Slower
Slatch
The Chicagoist
Neal Pollack
< ? chicago blogs # >

Music
Nolan
Burn Disco Burn
Pitchfork
Last Plane To Jakarta
All Music Guide
Better Propaganda

News & Politics
Salon
Spinsanity
MoveOn
Daily Kos
The Daily Howler
Liberal Oasis
David Rees
ACT For Victory

Magazines &c
Nerve
McSweeney's
The Believer
Adbusters
The Chicago Reader
Vice
Chunklet
The2ndHand
This Is Grand
606

... in which I lament my faltering immune system.
13 November 2002

The shitty thing about calling in sick when I am actually sick, is that I feel a need to prove that I'm not faking it. I almost feel guiltier when my plight is legitimate than when I am playing hookey. This morning, when I left early because I simply couldn't prop my fever-addled noggin up on my clammy hands any longer, I really wanted to know if my supervisor thought I was faking it. If she was a bitch, I wouldn't care, but she's nice and I didn't want to be letting her down. There wasn't a lot I could to lend veracity to my request to be excused, other than a contrite tone of voice and an overly tentative, stooped posture as I crept out of the cubicle. I guess I could've tried puking on her, but I'm not that desperate to cement my credibility. In college, a friend of mine had the perfect line to use while calling in sick: I've been in the bathroom all day. No self-respecting supervisor's going to question that one. No details are necessary there. Mitchell suggested the blunt but effective I've got the shits.

And when I am sick, nothing astounds me more than the seeming invincibility of the healthy. Driving home from my prematurely aborted workday, stopping at Hy-Vee to get Thera-Flu (nothing knocks me out faster), I just couldn't get over how effortlessly the people around me were standing, walking, sitting at the deli. Old men three times my age were sipping coffee and chatting without having the chills, sweats, or imminent diarrhea. How do they pull it off? Driving back towards my house, I saw students striding confidently down Burlington without once doubling over and clutching their abdomen as their bowels clenched. Amazing! They are gods among men! I long to walk among them.

I think my body hates me.


0 Comments

Back & Forth