Current

Archives

Host

Profile

Buy my CD

Photo Log

NEW BLOG
LOCATION


Links:

Blogs &c
The Jeaun
Nounatron
Specific Objects
Oltremare
Hot Lotion
NolanPop
Putain
Weebs
From The South
Furia
Sunday Kofax
Lizz
Robin
Faery Face
Until Later
Slower
Slatch
The Chicagoist
Neal Pollack
< ? chicago blogs # >

Music
Nolan
Burn Disco Burn
Pitchfork
Last Plane To Jakarta
All Music Guide
Better Propaganda

News & Politics
Salon
Spinsanity
MoveOn
Daily Kos
The Daily Howler
Liberal Oasis
David Rees
ACT For Victory

Magazines &c
Nerve
McSweeney's
The Believer
Adbusters
The Chicago Reader
Vice
Chunklet
The2ndHand
This Is Grand
606

What's in a name.
20 April 2003

Okay. Here's the deal.

This is news to most of you, but some of you have been asking me if I'm really serious about changing my name. Let me go on record now as saying: yes. I am serious about changing my name. I am changing my name. This is not a joke. The legal machinations have been set in motion. $150 and thirty days later, I will legally be known as Jake Mohan.

Why, you ask? Well, there are several reasons. The first is that I want a normal name. I'm tired of having initials for a name. I'm tired of prospective employers calling me John because that's what it says on my application. I'm tired of the Pope jokes. The second reason is that my parents and my extended family have been calling me Jake all my life. The day I got back from the hospital after being born, my father immediately started calling me Jake. Go figure.

Changing one's name can often smack of pretention and/or dippiness. I generally try to avoid appearing pretentious or dippy, but this particular gesture carries some important personal meaning and will also make my life a bit easier in some ways, so I'm willing to take that risk.

Why now? Well, now seems as good a time as any. But bear in mind: I don't expect anyone who already knows me to start calling me Jake. You can still call me whatever you've always called me, be it John Paul, JP, Japes, P, Shippy, Earl Shitty Crapface of Poopshire, etc. But if you're introducing me to someone new, setting me up on a blind date (with hilarious results!), or reporting my suspicious activities to the Department of Homeland Security, you might as well call me Jake, and then we can all revel in the confusion.

That's all. Carry on.

Love,
Jake (!)


0 Comments

Back & Forth