Current

Archives

Host

Profile

Buy my CD

Photo Log

NEW BLOG
LOCATION


Links:

Blogs &c
The Jeaun
Nounatron
Specific Objects
Oltremare
Hot Lotion
NolanPop
Putain
Weebs
From The South
Furia
Sunday Kofax
Lizz
Robin
Faery Face
Until Later
Slower
Slatch
The Chicagoist
Neal Pollack
< ? chicago blogs # >

Music
Nolan
Burn Disco Burn
Pitchfork
Last Plane To Jakarta
All Music Guide
Better Propaganda

News & Politics
Salon
Spinsanity
MoveOn
Daily Kos
The Daily Howler
Liberal Oasis
David Rees
ACT For Victory

Magazines &c
Nerve
McSweeney's
The Believer
Adbusters
The Chicago Reader
Vice
Chunklet
The2ndHand
This Is Grand
606

Watching TV, drinking beer
16 August 2003

A familiar scenario.

Sitting in my ersatz apartment wondering just how long it could take a window air conditioner to cool down a space so small that I can barely throw a twin mattress down on the floor without Pat having to sort of like toss his bike over my sleeping form in the morning just to get out the door. But I can't complain. The beer fridge is always full. I've been drunk without remorse these past several days and I love it. That's what August is for�lag time. Soon my job will end, and I will miss (some of) those kids, even if they don't believe me when I say it. I'm drinking a Coors Light because there's nothing else to drink in the fridge and it's not too early to drink�as an old friend once said, "It's England somewhere." I'll probably go down in a few minutes to meet Dino at the Noodle Ha�s in a few minutes, escape to real air conditioning and overpriced pesto. Then he can tell me his master plan for turning it loose tonight. When Dino's planning on drinking heavily, he stops drinking a couple of days prior, and we all get psyched for the big night. ("I love drunk Dino!")

Not that the last few nights have been tame. Last night was Zeb's birthday and Ransom did the Power Hour�2 shots of beer every 2 minutes for an hour. He claims he can't remember the second half hour of said Power Hour, or the subsequent trip to the Deadwood, where he disappeared for a half an hour and no one�including him�knows where he went. Nor does he remember playing MegaTouch with Zeb, or slow-dancing with me to "Paranoid Android", or getting a 19-year-old British girl through the door, or when Leah made a surprise appearance, or when Zeb kicked him repeatedly in the balls on the sidewalk outside, or when Sarah punched him full in the mouth because he asked her to. Ah, good times. And Leah's visit was a wonderful�if too brief�surprise, and we adjourned to the roof, our new requisite after hours site, where Chad appeared with a case of beer, as we can always count on him to do.

Favorite song of the moment: "Dear Prudence" by the Beatles.



0 Comments

Back & Forth