Current

Archives

Host

Profile

Buy my CD

Photo Log

NEW BLOG
LOCATION


Links:

Blogs &c
The Jeaun
Nounatron
Specific Objects
Oltremare
Hot Lotion
NolanPop
Putain
Weebs
From The South
Furia
Sunday Kofax
Lizz
Robin
Faery Face
Until Later
Slower
Slatch
The Chicagoist
Neal Pollack
< ? chicago blogs # >

Music
Nolan
Burn Disco Burn
Pitchfork
Last Plane To Jakarta
All Music Guide
Better Propaganda

News & Politics
Salon
Spinsanity
MoveOn
Daily Kos
The Daily Howler
Liberal Oasis
David Rees
ACT For Victory

Magazines &c
Nerve
McSweeney's
The Believer
Adbusters
The Chicago Reader
Vice
Chunklet
The2ndHand
This Is Grand
606

A while ago and recently
19 August 2003

God, I love Def Leppard.

Today was my last day of work. None of the kids cried, but that may be because I don't think it registered with them that they were never going to see me again�ever. Small children don't really pay much attention to transitions anyway. Most of them just go with the flow. Seven-year-old Leah, my favorite, said she'd miss me, but she wasn't going to cry. "I never cry when I lose a buddy," she explained.

That's resilient.




And somehow I've found myself painting John Svec's house while drinking PBRs and planning my exodus to Grinnell and missing people who've gone: Leisel and Susie and Leah, of course. But also pre�mptively, like Jaime and Jill and Pat and Ransom. But I'll see them all again soon enough.

I don't cry when I lose a buddy.


I've got static in my head
the reflected sound of everything


0 Comments

Back & Forth