Current

Archives

Host

Profile

Buy my CD

Photo Log

NEW BLOG
LOCATION


Links:

Blogs &c
The Jeaun
Nounatron
Specific Objects
Oltremare
Hot Lotion
NolanPop
Putain
Weebs
From The South
Furia
Sunday Kofax
Lizz
Robin
Faery Face
Until Later
Slower
Slatch
The Chicagoist
Neal Pollack
< ? chicago blogs # >

Music
Nolan
Burn Disco Burn
Pitchfork
Last Plane To Jakarta
All Music Guide
Better Propaganda

News & Politics
Salon
Spinsanity
MoveOn
Daily Kos
The Daily Howler
Liberal Oasis
David Rees
ACT For Victory

Magazines &c
Nerve
McSweeney's
The Believer
Adbusters
The Chicago Reader
Vice
Chunklet
The2ndHand
This Is Grand
606

Minneapolis
05 October 2003

Now this is the life: chilling in the Boy With Stick house on a sunny October Sunday in Minneapolis, listening to Outkast. Might go see Lost In Translation later. Or find a bar and watch the Cubs game. Or both. Last night's show was a blast, if a bit steep on the drunken basement jam quotient. I continue to rock sleeping arrangements with my Deluxe AeroBed (TM) which inflates in sixty seconds. Even with a cold and hungover, I slept wonderfully. Had some weird dreams, though. Boy With Stick are the best hosts ever.

Later ...

I wanted to add to this entry because we had such a pleasant day off here in the land of ten thousand lakes. We walked to a coffee house down the street, then to a used bookstore next door, where I got Carver's Where I'm Calling From, as well as a memoir called Cad: Confessions Of A Toxic Bachelor, which has always intrigued me.

DINO: Do they take credit cards here?
ME: I can spot you some money if you need it.
CHRIS: Well, you're just Richie McLoaded Wallet Pants.

The weather is perfect, and I love Minneapolis. Seems like wherever you go in this town, there's always a park or lake (or both) nearby. This is perhaps the one place whose residents are entitled to a regional superiority complex. And maybe it's the locale, or the time of year, or our consummate hosts in Boy With Stick, or the friendliness of the people we met at the party last night, but everything right now seems suffused with a kind of Midwestern goodwill, where everyone hopes for the best and helps each other out. I hope this continues.

On a completely different note, I think I might be about to sink into the Friendster quagmire ...

One thing I observed about our day off is that, with very few exceptions, none of us want to talk or think about music today. Us and the guys from BWS have just been sitting around reading or watching the game on TV, and we don't have to think about set lists or merch or audiences. Not that we don't like our jobs; it's just a nice break that we won't always have later in the tour. Though Dino and I did jam for a while in the basement today.

Looking forward to tomorrow's show at 4th Street Station, and seeing old friends in the area.

And when I say motherfucker
I do mean motherfucker,
because Mother Earth is dying
and we continue to fuck her to death.

- Andre 3000


0 Comments

Back & Forth