Current

Archives

Host

Profile

Buy my CD

Photo Log

NEW BLOG
LOCATION


Links:

Blogs &c
The Jeaun
Nounatron
Specific Objects
Oltremare
Hot Lotion
NolanPop
Putain
Weebs
From The South
Furia
Sunday Kofax
Lizz
Robin
Faery Face
Until Later
Slower
Slatch
The Chicagoist
Neal Pollack
< ? chicago blogs # >

Music
Nolan
Burn Disco Burn
Pitchfork
Last Plane To Jakarta
All Music Guide
Better Propaganda

News & Politics
Salon
Spinsanity
MoveOn
Daily Kos
The Daily Howler
Liberal Oasis
David Rees
ACT For Victory

Magazines &c
Nerve
McSweeney's
The Believer
Adbusters
The Chicago Reader
Vice
Chunklet
The2ndHand
This Is Grand
606

Omaha
07 October 2003

Here in lovely downtown Omaha for our show at the 49er. I'm using one of those nifty Internet tables with the screen and keyboard built right in. The wonders never cease in this age of connectivity.

We drove down here after reluctantly saying goodbye to Minneapolis this morning. What a city. We owe our hosts, Boy With Stick, big time. Last night was our show at 4th Street Station. It was a bit frustrating at first because the turnout was low. Plus, it's a heavy metal club, and we played on a huge stage with a goddamn drum riser. I hate those things. And the lights were just behind my head, so every time they switched from blue to red, I'd break into a serious sweat, sitting there twelve feet above the floor. Still, we played well, and sounded good, and I had some old friends come by the show. It was good to see them.

We've begun a tradition of waking up and starting the day in the most obnoxious way possible. Yesterday Chris came downstairs, picked up an acoustic guitar, and launched right into "Hole Hearted" by Extreme. Then today, Dino woke me up by blasting the Dave Matthews Band and jumping on my bed while singing in his most obnoxious Dave Matthews impression.

During the six-hour drive today I road-tested (literally!) the loft that Chris built in the back of the van, and took a nap. We stopped for gas at one point and I was surprised to see that the convenience store was selling Adbusters. Then Chris attempted to put air in the van's tires while a rather intimidating rottweiler named Jesse guarded the air compressor. We knew the dog's name was Jesse because that's what his crazy old owner called him when he came out of the store, mounted his four-wheeler, and drove out of the parking lot with Jesse on his back.

Saw Lost In Transltion yesterday. Very enjoyable. Both funny and touching, like the best movies are. Also went to Electric Fetus, though I didn't buy any CDs. I don't have the money and I was surprised to discover there's really nothing I want, since ripping from friends the new Rufus Wainwright, Death Cab, and Outkast. Sorry, artists; I'm stealing music.

Time to log off this crazy machine and watch some baseball before we play. Oh, and drink free beer. See you in Kansas City.

Love, Jake


0 Comments

Back & Forth