Current

Archives

Host

Profile

Buy my CD

Photo Log

NEW BLOG
LOCATION


Links:

Blogs &c
The Jeaun
Nounatron
Specific Objects
Oltremare
Hot Lotion
NolanPop
Putain
Weebs
From The South
Furia
Sunday Kofax
Lizz
Robin
Faery Face
Until Later
Slower
Slatch
The Chicagoist
Neal Pollack
< ? chicago blogs # >

Music
Nolan
Burn Disco Burn
Pitchfork
Last Plane To Jakarta
All Music Guide
Better Propaganda

News & Politics
Salon
Spinsanity
MoveOn
Daily Kos
The Daily Howler
Liberal Oasis
David Rees
ACT For Victory

Magazines &c
Nerve
McSweeney's
The Believer
Adbusters
The Chicago Reader
Vice
Chunklet
The2ndHand
This Is Grand
606

You can sell yourself on blue diamonds
12 November 2003

"Do the math" is one of several cliches that I hate, and was quite vocal about hating during the tour, to the point where, during Burn Disco Burn's set on Monday night, several members of the audience were shouting them out. Here are the others, in case you want to yell at us during our next show:

� You snooze, you lose (the all time worst)
� It's a no brainer
� Cruisin' for a bruisin'
� No worries / It's all good

It's good to be home again. Not just home for a break, but home for good. I won't be nesting here long, however, since I plan to be fully moved into my new place in Chicago by Thanksgiving. For now, though, I can relax, decide what color to paint my new room, and catch up on my reading.

I'm also working on a tour soundtrack, featuring the music we listened to the most on the road. Here's what I've got so far:

The Long Winters, "Blue Diamonds"
The Belles, "You Can't Have It All"
Rufus Wainwright, "Vicious World"
Evan Dando, "Repeat"
Pernice Brothers, "Our Time Has Passed"
Josh Rouse, "1972"
The Shins, "Kissing The Lipless"
Prefuse 73, "Perverted Undertone"
Fountains Of Wayne, "Valley Winter Song"
Smashing Pumpkins, "The Tale Of Dusty And Pistol Pete"
Murder By Death, "Pillars Of Salt"
The Belles, "Never Said Anything"
Death Cab For Cutie, "We Looked Like Giants"
Andre 3000, "Vibrate"

Dino & Chris: Let me know if I've left anything out.

The show in Chicago was the perfect end to the tour. The Wise Fools' pub�while it may be in the heart of Lincoln Park, the neighborhood in Chicago with the highest percentage of aging fratboys�is a great venue, very classy and intimate, so that it felt like a reunion of our best friends in Chicago. I drank many beers and hugged many people whom I consider the old guard of my friend group, the people who've seen me at my best and at my worst, and supported me through both, no matter what: Courtney, Tim, Aden and Kate, Leisel and Susie, the other Tim, Adam ... if only Leah and Neil had been there. And everyone else, of course. Excuse me while I get a little emotional here.

Dino and I also figured out that we've played fifty shows in 2003, the one in Chicago being our 50th. That's the gold anniversary, right? 32 of those shows were played on this tour. I just did the math (HA!) and figured out that, since October 2, we traveled approximately 8000 miles and visited twenty-five cities.

So that's that. Time to curl up with The Simpsons, maybe head out to the bar tonight and drink some whiskey.

Oh, one more thing: In order to solicit more comments, I'm going to conduct some polls. First question: Bob Odenkirk or David Cross, and why?


2 Comments

Back & Forth