Current

Archives

Host

Profile

Buy my CD

Photo Log

NEW BLOG
LOCATION


Links:

Blogs &c
The Jeaun
Nounatron
Specific Objects
Oltremare
Hot Lotion
NolanPop
Putain
Weebs
From The South
Furia
Sunday Kofax
Lizz
Robin
Faery Face
Until Later
Slower
Slatch
The Chicagoist
Neal Pollack
< ? chicago blogs # >

Music
Nolan
Burn Disco Burn
Pitchfork
Last Plane To Jakarta
All Music Guide
Better Propaganda

News & Politics
Salon
Spinsanity
MoveOn
Daily Kos
The Daily Howler
Liberal Oasis
David Rees
ACT For Victory

Magazines &c
Nerve
McSweeney's
The Believer
Adbusters
The Chicago Reader
Vice
Chunklet
The2ndHand
This Is Grand
606

Great wall of China
20 December 2003

Oh, man. Best holiday party ever. The show was okay; Nolan hasn't played together in about a month, and I had to play someone else's drum kit, which, to get some idea of how difficult that can be, imagine replacing your writing hand with a cheeseburger. The only notable thing about the band that played after us is that they had a song called "When Do Telemarketers Eat Dinner?" though I strongly doubt they came up with that joke.

But the party was off the proverbial hook. It was great to see so many friends again. I stood under the mistletoe and got pecks from Leisel, Susie, Matt, Shelly, and possibly others, though I can't remember. Dino and Ransom and I went nuts and rocked out to "Hey Ya!" and I consumed about 112 beers.

Andrew WK called my brother tonight. That kicks so much ass.

Driving out of the city today, there was an incredible sunset. A blanket of pink-stippled clouds with a rift in them that exposed blue sky like a tear in the fabric. Now I'm in Iowa City, and driving around before the show listening to old Speed Of Sauce recordings, including the only known recording of "Great Wall Of China" from the very last days of the band. This song is probably my favorite SoS song and it's a shame we don't have a better recording of it. Driving around this dark, cold town, I'm reminded of things I enjoyed about it while living here, even when eager to escape.

Favorite song right now: "North Pole Transmission" by FC Kahuna. "Get your head out of your hands, this is not like heaven."


0 Comments

Back & Forth