Current

Archives

Host

Profile

Buy my CD

Photo Log

NEW BLOG
LOCATION


Links:

Blogs &c
The Jeaun
Nounatron
Specific Objects
Oltremare
Hot Lotion
NolanPop
Putain
Weebs
From The South
Furia
Sunday Kofax
Lizz
Robin
Faery Face
Until Later
Slower
Slatch
The Chicagoist
Neal Pollack
< ? chicago blogs # >

Music
Nolan
Burn Disco Burn
Pitchfork
Last Plane To Jakarta
All Music Guide
Better Propaganda

News & Politics
Salon
Spinsanity
MoveOn
Daily Kos
The Daily Howler
Liberal Oasis
David Rees
ACT For Victory

Magazines &c
Nerve
McSweeney's
The Believer
Adbusters
The Chicago Reader
Vice
Chunklet
The2ndHand
This Is Grand
606

High above the city
17 January 2004

Yesterday Margaret and I did the tourist thing and went downtown, ducking into a few stores. I changed my tune on H&M when I realized how cheap everything is. I plan on returning when I have money. Did you know H&M stands for "Hers & Men's?"

(It doesn't.)

We went to the top of the Hancock, something I've never done before. The recording in the elevator informed us the Hancock is the most-recognized building in the country. I'm not sure about that. Most-mistaken-for-the-Sears-Tower, maybe. I kicked myself for not bringing my camera. They took a picture of us for free, then wanted us to pay them $10 for a print of us superimposed in front of a Hancock Building backdrop. Why pay ten dollars when I can do a better job myself?

We ate impossibly dense desserts at the Cheesecake Factory, then saw 21 Grams. The less said about that the better. I will say it suffers from Requiem For A Dream Syndrome: well written, expertly made, superbly acted; I never want to see it again.

Jason and I just got our cat. She's a white, short-haired kitten. Actually, more like a teenager. We are still accepting suggestions for names. Here's the list we've generated so far:

Vespa
El Negro
Mandy Moore The Cat
Stewie
Sara Eilert
Zelda
The Fountainhead
C-Biscuit
Garfield Sits Around The House
Schatzi

And she meditates!


2 Comments

Back & Forth