Current

Archives

Host

Profile

Buy my CD

Photo Log

NEW BLOG
LOCATION


Links:

Blogs &c
The Jeaun
Nounatron
Specific Objects
Oltremare
Hot Lotion
NolanPop
Putain
Weebs
From The South
Furia
Sunday Kofax
Lizz
Robin
Faery Face
Until Later
Slower
Slatch
The Chicagoist
Neal Pollack
< ? chicago blogs # >

Music
Nolan
Burn Disco Burn
Pitchfork
Last Plane To Jakarta
All Music Guide
Better Propaganda

News & Politics
Salon
Spinsanity
MoveOn
Daily Kos
The Daily Howler
Liberal Oasis
David Rees
ACT For Victory

Magazines &c
Nerve
McSweeney's
The Believer
Adbusters
The Chicago Reader
Vice
Chunklet
The2ndHand
This Is Grand
606

Outside chance
09 February 2004

Today's entry is so link-worthy.

My first day of work. It was okay. I've never really worked in a humungous office environment before, so it'll take some getting used to. I must admit I'm a sucker for perks, however, so they achieved the intended effect when they gave me a free tote bag and travel mug with the firm's name emblazoned across the side.

On the way home I had a brief phone conference with Chris and Dino concerning our invitation to open for Wheat at the Mill tomorrow night ... Alas, there's no way I can logistically do it. The first casualty of my new job.

Also on the way home, I stopped at Reckless and a very nice Scottish man hooked me up with John Vanderslice's Cellar Door and the New Sense debut.

Pardon me, but the guy who plays the big fat obnoxious fianc� on "My Big Fat Obnoxious Fianc�" has the best job in the world.

The real icing on the cake today was Pitchfork's long-overdue tip of the hat to Yes.

And on the walk home from the train, my iPod selected an old song by an old band, Racecar Radar. I have such fond memories of my short tenure with this short-lived band. All we ever wanted was a good time. The song in question is an endearing ballad known only as the Loop song, never finished or released, and it almost brings me to tears sometimes. I remember recording it with John like it was yesterday: Matt at my side playing the cymbals, Dino's backwards guitar solos, Nick's on-the-spot lyrics. It's a rough take, but that just makes it an even better song that perfectly captures an odd time in all of our lives.

Favorite song of the moment: "Outside Chance" by New Sense.

they're playing our song
outside where no one can hear
they're playing our song
at the start of my new career


2 Comments

Back & Forth