Current

Archives

Host

Profile

Buy my CD

Photo Log

NEW BLOG
LOCATION


Links:

Blogs &c
The Jeaun
Nounatron
Specific Objects
Oltremare
Hot Lotion
NolanPop
Putain
Weebs
From The South
Furia
Sunday Kofax
Lizz
Robin
Faery Face
Until Later
Slower
Slatch
The Chicagoist
Neal Pollack
< ? chicago blogs # >

Music
Nolan
Burn Disco Burn
Pitchfork
Last Plane To Jakarta
All Music Guide
Better Propaganda

News & Politics
Salon
Spinsanity
MoveOn
Daily Kos
The Daily Howler
Liberal Oasis
David Rees
ACT For Victory

Magazines &c
Nerve
McSweeney's
The Believer
Adbusters
The Chicago Reader
Vice
Chunklet
The2ndHand
This Is Grand
606

Magical realism
25 March 2004

1. While I was walking in the rain yesterday my iPod, in shuffle mode, settled on Premiers Symptomes. Of course; how obvious.

2. Downloaded several leaked tracks from the upcoming Tortoise album. But I will buy it when it comes out! I swear! ... So how are they, you ask? Kick-ass, mais oui.

3. Also iTunesed the new David Byrne. Favorite song so far: "Empire" (and no, it�s not a cover of the Queensryche song). Also �Tiny Apocalypse� and the duet with Rufus Wainwright.

3. There was a 70-person brawl in Iowa City? Man, I knew I would end up missing that town.

4. Paris Hilton guested on "The OC" last night as a grad student doing a thesis on Magical Realism in American Literature. I never thought I'd actually hear Paris Hilton say "Thomas Pynchon." I think that means the apocalypse is nigh.

5. Finally got around to watching I Am Trying To Break Your Heart. Some of the band-tension moments hit a little too close to home. But I would love to have half the "problems" that band has. "Oh no! Reprise dropped us! Now we�ll just have to choose from one of the other dozen major-label imprints clamoring to get a piece of the Wilco pie! I�m Jeff Tweedy! I�m rich! Where's my Diet Coke? You�re out of the band! What are you laughing at? You�re next!"

6. And so forth.

�Hiroshi Oh was an alarmingly fragile man. In the lecture hall he would ease into his chair in careful stages, always on the verge of blowing away, and then he�d smile desolately at his children. Tall blond milwaukees�prepare for Zen! ... It was Oh�s practice to reveal some deep Zen principle, carefully planting evidence of its undeniable truth, and then to confront us with a totally different theory of equally undeniable truth. He seemed to enjoy trying to break our minds, crush us with centuries of confusion, as if to say: If the great teachers and enlightened ones of history cannot find a common interpretation, how will you ever know what to believe, you poor white gullible bastards?�

                  �Don DeLillo, Americana


0 Comments

Back & Forth