Current

Archives

Host

Profile

Buy my CD

Photo Log

NEW BLOG
LOCATION


Links:

Blogs &c
The Jeaun
Nounatron
Specific Objects
Oltremare
Hot Lotion
NolanPop
Putain
Weebs
From The South
Furia
Sunday Kofax
Lizz
Robin
Faery Face
Until Later
Slower
Slatch
The Chicagoist
Neal Pollack
< ? chicago blogs # >

Music
Nolan
Burn Disco Burn
Pitchfork
Last Plane To Jakarta
All Music Guide
Better Propaganda

News & Politics
Salon
Spinsanity
MoveOn
Daily Kos
The Daily Howler
Liberal Oasis
David Rees
ACT For Victory

Magazines &c
Nerve
McSweeney's
The Believer
Adbusters
The Chicago Reader
Vice
Chunklet
The2ndHand
This Is Grand
606

One of those boring weekend recaps I try to avoid
29 March 2004

I think most of the people who read this were with me this weekend, but there were a few notable moments so I'll recount them anyway. Saturday night I went with Aden, Kate, and Graver to a party up in Wrigleyville. Along the way, we had the good fortune of hailing a cab driven by The Singing Cab Driver. It was quite a trip (LITERALLY! HA HA HA HA HA HA!). I was kind of disappointed when he handed us his promotional card and we learned he's been on TV and in magazines. I wanted him to be one of those Chicago urban legends you have to discover yourself. The party itself was okay, and it turned out Neal Pollack was there. So I got to meet him and watch him mumble drunkenly while wearing a leopard-print bathrobe and his own band's t-shirt. I guess you're granted license to do that when you're a cantankerous, semi-famous literary figure. I considered swiping his cell-phone and crank-calling Dave Eggers. Yesterday we helped Kate move into Aden's place, beating the season's first thunderstorm by mere minutes, and were rewarded with pizza and beer, wondering why "Malcom In The Middle" is still on television and why it gets such a sweet time slot.

That's about it.


0 Comments

Back & Forth