Current

Archives

Host

Profile

Buy my CD

Photo Log

NEW BLOG
LOCATION


Links:

Blogs &c
The Jeaun
Nounatron
Specific Objects
Oltremare
Hot Lotion
NolanPop
Putain
Weebs
From The South
Furia
Sunday Kofax
Lizz
Robin
Faery Face
Until Later
Slower
Slatch
The Chicagoist
Neal Pollack
< ? chicago blogs # >

Music
Nolan
Burn Disco Burn
Pitchfork
Last Plane To Jakarta
All Music Guide
Better Propaganda

News & Politics
Salon
Spinsanity
MoveOn
Daily Kos
The Daily Howler
Liberal Oasis
David Rees
ACT For Victory

Magazines &c
Nerve
McSweeney's
The Believer
Adbusters
The Chicago Reader
Vice
Chunklet
The2ndHand
This Is Grand
606

Are you gonna give me, like, eight bars?
07 April 2004

My car is making funny noises. Coming back to work today after an extended weekend was difficult. Like going back to school after Christmas vacation. Bought a jacket at the Gap outlet yesterday. Just went ahead and bought it. The Nolan show on Sunday went surprisingly well. I must admit I had my apprehensions. Maybe it was the fact that we hadn�t played a show in four months or practiced in twice that, or maybe it was singing backup vocals for the first time, or maybe it was the unusual venue (the Mill), or maybe it was having my mother in the audience. But it�s good to be back in the saddle, sort of, and I�m looking forward to the next few shows we�ve got lined up. The WiKi wonder Nounatron is quite a diversion. The weekend in general was a rousing success as well, with really no shortage of friends or beer. It was an old-fashioned Iowa City weekend, driving around town with the windows down, rocking out, and declaring a jihad on the Deadwood with Dino, Jill, Leah, John, Cable, Ransom, Angie, Margaret, Nick, Kathryn, Chris, Zeb, my brother, Amy. If I left anyone out, I apologize, because you weren�t there and you missed the jihad. The sound my car makes is a scraping one, like there�s something dragging on the ground, but I checked and nothing�s dragging. Now hear this. I�d like to take a moment here to reaffirm my appreciation for Deja Blue drinking water. I�m seriously considering walking to Border�s on my lunch break to get the new Tortoise album. Border�s�for all your indie music needs. It could be the brake pads; I should get that looked at. I miss Grinnell�the wide-open spaces especially, the green grass, the lazy weekday afternoons in spring. There aren�t enough wide-open spaces where I live. Maybe I�m not a city boy. It makes me laugh to think the �offical� release date for Rotation is April 20, since we had our first unofficial release party for it nearly a year ago. I need to come up with a better way to spend my evenings than in front of the TV with my laptop. Reading: Vurt, listening to: Our Aim Is To Satisfy by Red Snapper.


0 Comments

Back & Forth