Current

Archives

Host

Profile

Buy my CD

Photo Log

NEW BLOG
LOCATION


Links:

Blogs &c
The Jeaun
Nounatron
Specific Objects
Oltremare
Hot Lotion
NolanPop
Putain
Weebs
From The South
Furia
Sunday Kofax
Lizz
Robin
Faery Face
Until Later
Slower
Slatch
The Chicagoist
Neal Pollack
< ? chicago blogs # >

Music
Nolan
Burn Disco Burn
Pitchfork
Last Plane To Jakarta
All Music Guide
Better Propaganda

News & Politics
Salon
Spinsanity
MoveOn
Daily Kos
The Daily Howler
Liberal Oasis
David Rees
ACT For Victory

Magazines &c
Nerve
McSweeney's
The Believer
Adbusters
The Chicago Reader
Vice
Chunklet
The2ndHand
This Is Grand
606

Gods of grammar, untie
08 April 2004

Leah�I have only one question: do you have a porch? It�s the brake pads. Took the car in this morning to the garage, then took a cab to work. In the taxi the driver was listening to Condi�s testimony. She sounds nervous. I am trying not to feel sorry for her even though Bush threw her to the dogs while doing the same arrogant stonewalling he�s been practicing all along. Do I maybe have a crush on Condi? No, no I do not. See, the thing is, as National Security Adviser, she should be able to tell the president anything in strictest confidence. By turning her over to the 9/11 Commission instead of testifying himself, he�s betraying that confidence. Cabinet members are beholden to Congress; President�s staff is not. Maybe Bush would know this if he had actually been elected to the office instead of merely appointed. I was fifteen minutes late for work and of course no one noticed. This begs the question, of course, how late I could be before I got caught. I�d rather not push that envelope just yet, only two months into the job. The International Union of Painters and Allied Trades (IUPAT) is picketing outside my building; we just got this email to explain: "Metal refinishers are striking and some of the building's trades are honoring the strike. There are currently no building carpenters or locksmiths on site and there is only a skeleton crew of engineers and electricians." Last night Stereolab rocked the Vic and brought the bass. I hate to sound like an old fogey who says that a band�s music all sounds the same, but their music all sounds the same. They seem okay with this, though, and so do their fans; when your ouevre is that homogenous, it doesn�t really seem to matter what actual songs you play, as long as Laetitia Sadier is out front being tall and French and dancing awkwardly. In barely related news, Pitchfork panned the new Tortoise album. I haven�t listened to it enough to say if I agree or not, but I�m impressed so far. The new Iron & Wine is beautiful. Also, I am a grammar god, though you wouldn�t know it from reading this entry.


2 Comments

Back & Forth