Current

Archives

Host

Profile

Buy my CD

Photo Log

NEW BLOG
LOCATION


Links:

Blogs &c
The Jeaun
Nounatron
Specific Objects
Oltremare
Hot Lotion
NolanPop
Putain
Weebs
From The South
Furia
Sunday Kofax
Lizz
Robin
Faery Face
Until Later
Slower
Slatch
The Chicagoist
Neal Pollack
< ? chicago blogs # >

Music
Nolan
Burn Disco Burn
Pitchfork
Last Plane To Jakarta
All Music Guide
Better Propaganda

News & Politics
Salon
Spinsanity
MoveOn
Daily Kos
The Daily Howler
Liberal Oasis
David Rees
ACT For Victory

Magazines &c
Nerve
McSweeney's
The Believer
Adbusters
The Chicago Reader
Vice
Chunklet
The2ndHand
This Is Grand
606

Acclimate
25 October 2004

Current best album of all time: Blue States, Nothing Changes Under The Sun

Work sucks more than usual today because I�m back after a long vacation. It�s painful. Even more pathetic, I think I physically miss my new computer. If I could somehow represent the nerd voice textually, it would be saying, �I want to go home and import CDs and burn DVDs and archive my photos and assemble my portfolio, all using my lightning-fast 1.33 GHz processor.�

Since I�ve been back, I�ve also been noticing small differences between Chicago and NYC, mostly related to public transportation, but also architecture, infrastructure, etc. I don�t want to get into the whole stupid my-city-is-better-than-yours argument. But for the first time since moving here, I felt like I was returning to a welcoming, familiar place when the plane touched down on Saturday night. Now I�m listening to Archer Prewitt in honor of my adopted hometown.

If anyone knows of any jobs�no matter how tedious�in writing/publishing, let me know. I�d rather make photocopies and put stickers on things in a field tangentially related to my interests than do the same thing at a huge law firm that, at the end of the day, only represents the interests of enormous, soulless corporate conglomerates.

I'm sorry, did I just spill some of my abundant journalistic integrity on you?


5 Comments

Back & Forth