Current

Archives

Host

Profile

Buy my CD

Photo Log

NEW BLOG
LOCATION


Links:

Blogs &c
The Jeaun
Nounatron
Specific Objects
Oltremare
Hot Lotion
NolanPop
Putain
Weebs
From The South
Furia
Sunday Kofax
Lizz
Robin
Faery Face
Until Later
Slower
Slatch
The Chicagoist
Neal Pollack
< ? chicago blogs # >

Music
Nolan
Burn Disco Burn
Pitchfork
Last Plane To Jakarta
All Music Guide
Better Propaganda

News & Politics
Salon
Spinsanity
MoveOn
Daily Kos
The Daily Howler
Liberal Oasis
David Rees
ACT For Victory

Magazines &c
Nerve
McSweeney's
The Believer
Adbusters
The Chicago Reader
Vice
Chunklet
The2ndHand
This Is Grand
606

Any open door
14 October 2004

(Just a reminder)


So, what do you suppose I did this morning when I woke up at five-thirty and was unable to go back to sleep?

I did what any intelligent, self-respecting person who has to work 45 hrs/week would do: I went to work. I was here by seven and had plenty of time to read the news, drink some tea, eat some oatmeal, and even get some work done, without the guffawing attorneys and nattering secretaries who generally distract me during the course of a regular work day.

And yes, I realize that getting to work two hours early is nothing to be proud of. Of which to be proud.

I�ve also decided that, from now on, whenever anyone asks me what I do�which really means, "Have you reached conventionally-defined benchmarks of 'success' as consistently as I have?"�I�m going to say I work at a law firm, and it�s not important. That�s all I�m going to say. Because it�s really not worth going into any more detail than that�and even that nugget of information is of questionable value. Because we should not be defined by our jobs, unless we love our jobs. There are a lot of things about my life that are interesting. My job is not one of them.

So I listened to Travistan just now. And it�s not as bad as some people insist�these are the same haters who, based on prejudice, line up to hate albums before they're even released, the same book-cover-judgers who long ago realized it was easier to criticize than create, and ran with that particular ball. I will say that it�s not a terrific album. It�s not the next Emergency & I. But I think maybe Travis was actively trying to avoid making the next Emergency & I. Maybe that�ll be his next album; who knows. There are some really irritating moments here, and there are definitely songs on this album I won�t listen to again on purpose. But there are also some really pretty pop songs, mostly towards the end of the album. The last song is beautiful, and proves that he�s still got �It��the same It that created �The City� and �Following Through� and �Ice Of Boston�. How he chooses to use It is his business alone, and he�s a brave man for making some bold moves that in some instances prove disastrous and in others prove successful. Far be it from me, and so on.

I just learned that National Bosses' Day is October 16. I love that it falls on a Saturday this year.


4 Comments

Back & Forth