Current

Archives

Host

Profile

Buy my CD

Photo Log

NEW BLOG
LOCATION


Links:

Blogs &c
The Jeaun
Nounatron
Specific Objects
Oltremare
Hot Lotion
NolanPop
Putain
Weebs
From The South
Furia
Sunday Kofax
Lizz
Robin
Faery Face
Until Later
Slower
Slatch
The Chicagoist
Neal Pollack
< ? chicago blogs # >

Music
Nolan
Burn Disco Burn
Pitchfork
Last Plane To Jakarta
All Music Guide
Better Propaganda

News & Politics
Salon
Spinsanity
MoveOn
Daily Kos
The Daily Howler
Liberal Oasis
David Rees
ACT For Victory

Magazines &c
Nerve
McSweeney's
The Believer
Adbusters
The Chicago Reader
Vice
Chunklet
The2ndHand
This Is Grand
606

Ten years gone
09 November 2004

Tonight, Nolan continues its trend of being on shitty WB television shows, during something called "One Tree Hill".


It gets dark every day at four now. I stay in this building and work overtime, pile the hours on early in the week so I can take it easy on Thursday and Friday. Sometimes, wandering the quiet passageways of various floors at the top of this immense structure, I almost feel cozy; I'm an insignificant molecule forgotten deep within the recesses of a place which is in turn tiny in comparison to the world around it.

Lately I've been thinking about my senior year of high school, which began a decade ago. Ten years.

I generally consider my adult life to have begun in 12th grade. Not for any good reason�lord knows I was still a whiny, melodramatic little bitch; a selfish, narcissistic, immature whelp who still had a lot of growing up to do. I was 18 years old, the arbitrary benchmark at which people are considered adults by most equally arbitrary standards. In retrospect, I think this was when I began taking things more seriously, writing about things more often, and getting just the faintest inkling at the causal nature of things: that actions have consequences, that everything's correlative.

My taste in music became more refined, though it still had a long way to go. My approach to interpersonal relationships became a bit less selfish, though I still had/have a long way to go in that respect, too. I still hated my parents and had a few years to go before I realized they were the smartest people in the world. I was immediately dismissive of everything I didn't already know about. I grew out of that phase, but still get genuinely frightened when I meet people my own age or older who haven't yet. And that happens far too frequently for my taste.

So, a decade. Fuck, that doesn't seem so long after all. Not until I reach out and try to grasp at the increasingly distant memories of having a Democrat in the White House (four years ago), getting drunk for the first time (nine years ago), being a college student (six years ago), or losing my virginity ( years ago).

I remember a time, not so long ago, when ten years seemed like a long time, an impractically abstract measurement, a meaningless span.

Now it makes more sense than ever.


5 Comments

Back & Forth