Current

Archives

Host

Profile

Buy my CD

Photo Log

NEW BLOG
LOCATION


Links:

Blogs &c
The Jeaun
Nounatron
Specific Objects
Oltremare
Hot Lotion
NolanPop
Putain
Weebs
From The South
Furia
Sunday Kofax
Lizz
Robin
Faery Face
Until Later
Slower
Slatch
The Chicagoist
Neal Pollack
< ? chicago blogs # >

Music
Nolan
Burn Disco Burn
Pitchfork
Last Plane To Jakarta
All Music Guide
Better Propaganda

News & Politics
Salon
Spinsanity
MoveOn
Daily Kos
The Daily Howler
Liberal Oasis
David Rees
ACT For Victory

Magazines &c
Nerve
McSweeney's
The Believer
Adbusters
The Chicago Reader
Vice
Chunklet
The2ndHand
This Is Grand
606

Low-culture manifestos
04 October 2004

Not feeling terribly original or articulate. Guess I�ll do one of these:

Went to Iowa this weekend. Now is a good time to be there; I always love Iowa in the autumn. The changing of the seasons is more immediately apparent amidst the trees and the open roads of my small hometown than it is here in the city. But it's starting to set in here as well. Call me crazy, but I jump for joy1 when I wake up in the morning and see that it�s fifty degrees outside.

So anyway, the weekend was good and included all the requisite elements: cramming three hundred beers into my face with Leah and Ransom, dinner with my Mom, watching a mediocre episode of SNL with Margaret. I just started reading Sex, Drugs, and Cocoa Puffs by Chuck Klosterman, which should be a good read, seeing as how it�s written by someone frighteningly similar to me2 and targeted precisely at my demographic.

Also looking forward to3 the VP debates tomorrow night. It's going to be a tough contest, seeing as how both cadidates are equally charismatic.

That�s all.


1 Not literally, of course. In this context, "jump for joy" means "take a shower and get dressed".

2 In this context, "frighteningly similar to" means "slightly older, much smarter, and a great deal more successful than".

3 In this context, "looking forward to" means "dreading".


0 Comments

Back & Forth