Current

Archives

Host

Profile

Buy my CD

Photo Log

NEW BLOG
LOCATION


Links:

Blogs &c
The Jeaun
Nounatron
Specific Objects
Oltremare
Hot Lotion
NolanPop
Putain
Weebs
From The South
Furia
Sunday Kofax
Lizz
Robin
Faery Face
Until Later
Slower
Slatch
The Chicagoist
Neal Pollack
< ? chicago blogs # >

Music
Nolan
Burn Disco Burn
Pitchfork
Last Plane To Jakarta
All Music Guide
Better Propaganda

News & Politics
Salon
Spinsanity
MoveOn
Daily Kos
The Daily Howler
Liberal Oasis
David Rees
ACT For Victory

Magazines &c
Nerve
McSweeney's
The Believer
Adbusters
The Chicago Reader
Vice
Chunklet
The2ndHand
This Is Grand
606

Yesterday & today
26 July 2003

I think maybe I had forgotten how much fun being drunk can be.

It was a quintessential Friday: a three-hour nap after work. I got a kickass mix CD from Colleen. Shout out to Colleen. Then we practiced, then the show. But of course the real fun didn't start until after-hours, which was held on the porch, or as Leah and I have taken to calling it, Portugal. ("Would you like to come spend some time in Portugal?" "But of course.") Ransom passed out and fell off of the porch swing at least once. We drew on him with a Sharpie, which is de rigeur. A random guy came up onto the porch, accusing us of making fun of him because he heard us say the word mullet, but then we pointed out that we were only singing along with the Wesley Willis song "Cut The Mullet," and he seemed appeased. Win called me. Shout out to my man Win. Eventually it was only me and Dino and Tim, and the sun was starting to rise. We were still drinking Old Styles and talking about music, and occasionally Dino would shout, "We're survivors, man! We made it!" Finally I walked home enjoying the first sunrise I've seen in a long time. The hangover is worth it. Definitely worth it.



0 Comments

Back & Forth