Current

Archives

Host

Profile

Buy my CD

Photo Log

NEW BLOG
LOCATION


Links:

Blogs &c
The Jeaun
Nounatron
Specific Objects
Oltremare
Hot Lotion
NolanPop
Putain
Weebs
From The South
Furia
Sunday Kofax
Lizz
Robin
Faery Face
Until Later
Slower
Slatch
The Chicagoist
Neal Pollack
< ? chicago blogs # >

Music
Nolan
Burn Disco Burn
Pitchfork
Last Plane To Jakarta
All Music Guide
Better Propaganda

News & Politics
Salon
Spinsanity
MoveOn
Daily Kos
The Daily Howler
Liberal Oasis
David Rees
ACT For Victory

Magazines &c
Nerve
McSweeney's
The Believer
Adbusters
The Chicago Reader
Vice
Chunklet
The2ndHand
This Is Grand
606

Getting more stupider
15 December 2003

I think I'm losing my mind. I keep forgetting things�simple things. I'm more scatterbrained than ever and I don't even really have that much I need to focus on. Maybe that's the problem. Maybe I need to lay off the sauce. Maybe I need to get out of the house more. My attention span is shrinking. I can't read anymore. I can't do the Saturday crossword. I find myself with lower and lower standards for what passes as entertainment on television, having given myself over to both "That 70s Show" and "King Of The Hill" as viable bookends for my usual "Simpsons" and "Seinfeld" slots. And then there's "The OC" ... Fox TV has made a slave of me. I can't rent movies, go to the library, or open a bank account until I get an official piece of mail with my new address on it. So if you're Sprint, my old bank, or my credit card company, write to me. And it goes without saying I'm still unemployed and bored, and it gets lonely in this apartment. It's almost harder when good friends come into town for a day or two, only to leave again.

Listen to me. Boo hoo. What are the good things about the weekend? Seeing Low on Friday night, though it's the first time I've seen them where the audience remained standing throughout. It was a bit disconcerting, so I had no choice but to get drunk. "Two-Step" got me all choked up, as usual. Then I went to a party where Aden made me continue drinking, and I thank him for it. Saturday night was a billards party with free beer, which rocked, and then Festivus, which also rocked. Yesterday Colleen came into town and we saw "The Santaland Diaries." It was good, but I'd rather read the story again. I'm just thankful not to be working retail for the third Christmas in a row.

So I might as well get this out of the way:

Top 10 albums of 2003

10. The Pernice Brothers: Yours, Mine & Ours
9. Rufus Wainwright: Want One
8. David Sylvian: Blemish
7. Lisa Germano: Lullaby For Liquid Pig
6. Grandaddy: Sumday
5. Death Cab For Cutie: Transatlanticism
4. Prefuse 73: One Word Extinguisher
3. Outkast (Andre 3000): The Love Below
2. Erlend �ye: Unrest
1. The Sea & Cake: One Bedroom

And no, I didn't forget about Hail To The Chimp. That's what you get for not hailing to the chimp!


3 Comments

Back & Forth